Perspective is Everything!

that's me in our side yard June 14, 2014

that’s me in our side yard June 14, 2014

Some days I feel like I still have a whole ‘nother person to lose to get to my goal weight.  I don’t, but some days it feels that way.  Then I see pictures that tell the real tale of how much I’ve been able to change everything in my life by losing 100 lbs.

Perspective is everything.

I’m a lucky girl. I have a handsome husband who eats whatever I put in front of him, regardless of the number of seeds, berries, grains, or salads I serve. I have a family that supports my efforts to get well. I have a body that is 100 lbs lighter than at the beginning of this journey, and I have a God who keeps directing, keeps loving, keeps encouraging me, and keeps unveiling the impossible for me, even on those days when I feel stymied.

Perspective is everything.

What’s next? I don’t know, but for today I am eating better, weighing myself every day, reporting my food to a friend every day, learning all I can about eating right and exercising, attacking diabetes with all I’ve got, finding recovery as I go, and making friends along the way who support and encourage this healthy lifestyle I have adopted. What a blessing!  I count those blessings every time I am reminded of where this all started and the ground that has been won.

Perspective is everything.

Never, did I think I would find a way to lose the weight, keep it off, and live happily while eating the way I am eating at this time. Never did I imagine that a time would come when I would crave salads. Never did I dare to imagine I could lose 100 lbs and keep losing even beyond that unimaginable goal. If I can do it, anyone can. The change came for me when HOPE took up residence in my heart and I began to change the way I thought about food and what I did with it.

Perspective is everything.

Last night at my meeting we talked about food fears and the consequence of excess weight.  I shared that I can’t imagine having to carry around that extra 100 lbs at this point in my life.  I truly think I would be in a wheel chair by now if I hadn’t lost that weight.  I can’t imagine climbing stairs 100 lbs heavier.  I can’t imagine buying clothes 100 lbs heavier.  I can’t imagine bending over and getting back up again after playing a game on the floor with the kiddos at a weight that is 100 lbs heavier than my current weight. I can’t imagine what my A1C numbers would be, or how much insulin I would be taking, or the dosage of acid reducers I would be on, or what the expense of my health care would be with that 100 lbs still on my 5′ 11″ frame.  I can’t imagine, but carrying a 12 pack of soda around the grocery store to refresh my memory gives me a little glimmer of what it would be like.

Perspective is everything!

Change is possible.  You CAN do it!  Why not start today?

How has your perspective on life in general and food in particular changed since you started reducing your body size and the number on that label inside your jeans?  What was your biggest challenge when trying to change your perspective? How did HOPE figure into what you were able to do?

2 thoughts on “Perspective is Everything!

  1. thanks for writing this post. it was so encouraging! change is hard, and you are so right that perspective is everything. my perspective has changed in that while i still love food, i make it work for me. i’m in control now, and that has made all the difference!

Comments are closed.