Big Sky Country of NE PA

For my Friday post this week I thought I’d share some of the splendor I see outside my front door in God’s country.  Let’s begin with the big sky pictures.

dsc_1520

How amazing it that?  And then there was this…

dsc_1522

We got three new trees this summer, so hubs has been babying them along with their own dedicated water troughs.  He took a 10-gallon paint bucket and drilled a hole in the bottom side of it. He fills these every night, which allows a slow, steady, even water stream to escape above the tree root ball over the span of a few hours.  We will be removing these soon, and putting some bark chips at the bottom of the tree to protect it this winter, then encircling the trees with fencing. We have a momma deer and two babies that get the munchies in the winter and regularly come to our yard to satisfy their cravings.  Darn, deer, anyway!

 

dsc_1518

The sun rising over NEPA is indeed a gorgeous sight.  This beauty of a sky predicted rain and it came later in the morning. What is it the sailors say?  Just this, “Red sky in morning, sailors take warning. Red sky at night, sailors delight.”

dsc_1521

My gorgeous autumnal driveway.  On the upper side of it that third tree hubs has been babying along, and our light house set atop our well head.  Just the other side of the road from this spot is our old donkey, Rosie, and two riding horses that belong to my sister-in-law. She is lucky enough to live on a plot of land adjoining our pasture, so has benefited from the green grasses that grow there almost all year long.

I love my camera. What a great shot!

dsc_1523

A red sugar maple growing at the end of the house.  Yeah, she’s braggin’!

I wish the fall colors could march on and on, but I know winter white is headed our way soon so I’m enjoying these crisp cool mornings as much as I can.

What is it like where you live?  What do you love most about the fall?

 

7 thoughts on “Big Sky Country of NE PA

  1. Beautiful photos Lori! Can’t get colors here like that! That’s a really nice long vista you guys have. Heard a country saying once, “If you can see your neighbors house, you are a poor man.”

Comments are closed.