3 Goals-Oct 13

LAST WEEK’S THREE TEENY, TINY GOALS

1  Stay on track with daily exercise and oatmeal.

2  Mindfully eat and write.

3  Create a list of things that fuel joy in my life and share that list.

HOW I DID!

Goal No. 1:  Okay.  I rank this goal as just okay because while I ate oatmeal half the week, the other half I ate other things for breakfast.  I did do all my exercises all week, however.  I also switched back to a veggie heavy food plan, eating only vegetables at lunch time and concentrating on lots of veggies and little meats and breads at supper time.  I’m feeling better because of the change and I  have less pain.  Woohoo!  A good choice for me and something I will continue this week.

Goal No. 2:  Okay. I’m ranking this goal just okay because while I was mindful about my food intake this week, and switched up things with my POE (plan of eating), I did not write much about the changes.  I’ve decided to restrict some foods right now, and minimize the amount I digest of others.  It seems to be working for me.

Goals No. 3: Rocked it!  I worked on my joy list all week and posted as I went.  Some items on the list were more personal than others, but they all have been known to incite a sense of joy in me.  I was surprised by the amount of items I added to the list throughout the week.  If you want to see what makes me joyful, check it out here.

I’d love to hear about what makes you joyful, too. Include your thoughts in the comment section below.

THIS COMING WEEK’S GOALS

This week I have decided to concentrate on a three-fold approach to my goal list, all involving a conscious decision on my part to turn away from self and trust my Spiritual Mentor for help more often in my life.  I’m one of those creatures that has learned to operate under the assumption that if I work harder or longer, or more fervently, more things will be accomplished.  Problem being, I’m getting older each year and less inclined to push, push, push all the time.  My body is rebelling, and insists I listen.  While my natural inclination is to push through the pain, this last year has convinced me that is unwise.  I do better when I remember to pray, meditate, and graciously accept God’s help for setting boundaries around my time and energy expenditures.  This week my goals will reflect my new vision of not having to do “it” all on my own, and the challenge to rely on God and others more to help me find balance in life.

This three-fold goal list focuses on self-power, self-protection, and self-provision.

THREE TEENY, TINY GOALS REGARDING “SELF”

1  Create a list of PROS and CONS associated with self-protecting behaviors I’ve employed in the past. When did they work, and why did they not?

2  Meditate on the benefits/detriments of powering through life on my own, and as time and inclination allow, address how self-powering attitudes might be a set-up for isolation on my part and confusion for others.

3  Look at ways I’ve pushed back on the tendency to provide for myself apart from the help of my Spiritual Mentor, God.  When have I decided to “get it on my own,” instead of waiting for it to be provided?

OBSERVATIONS

It’s hard for the hard-working to not work hard!

It’s good for me to think about new and maybe better ways of interacting.

I have more triggers for joy than I thought I did.

I want a heart that’s a work of art.

Pete the Cat is sooo cool!

Politics are a sticky wicket.

I’m ready for this election to be over, already!!!

What goals will you work to achieve this week?  If breaking big projects down into smaller steps is the way to achieving our goals, how come we don’t walk that way more often?

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “3 Goals-Oct 13

  1. We are having an election? Is that what you call it, lol

    This is my observation. Originally politicians ran on what they had done. Then they changed to run on what they were going to do. Now they run on attacking their opponent.

Comments are closed.