Transformation Tuesday

Transformation is not for the faint-of-heart, this I can say with certainty.  Bending steel takes strength. Likewise, bending the will takes determination and grit.

THE MANY FORMS OF CHANGE

A changed life manifests itself in a lot of different ways.  I have observed that change taking form in these ways…

Purposeful renewal and altercation

Disease and rehabilitation

Death and beginning again

Physical, Spiritual, and Emotional shifts

Digitally and Vocationally

A FEW CHANGES            

This past week mister and me wrangled with several changes across various platforms. Among them, these:

We hosted two wee ones for four days.  It was both heavenly and taxing.  Any shift in our routine affects our sleep and living habits, of course, and for me more than he, but him too.  We were paid for our troubles with hugs, kisses, and smiles that would melt your heart, so the trade off was worth what we forfeited to make it happen. We came away from our weekend feeling joyful, after changing our quiet home for the hustle and bustle little boys always bring in their wake.

Our daughter-in-law lost her grandmother this week, to a stroke.  A shift in family dynamics is inevitable when death occurs, and those left behind are powerless to do anything about it, but adjust.  Death is no defender of the status quo.  It comes, it changes things forever, and it leaves us with dim memories to satisfy our longing.

Two of our three vehicles are now out of commission.  The third is hanging on by a thread.  We joke about our house being the last stop for cars before the junk yard, because we squeeze every ounce of usable energy out of them. We literally drive them into the ground (or at least pieces of them).  If there is one area where we are extremely frugal, it is with our automobile purchases.  Coming from a farming community, I learned as a child to fix what you have until you can’t any more, then borrow the neighbors.  I think there might be a new car purchase in our future, like it or not.

My rehab for the back/leg is producing some good results. When I rose this morning, it was without pain!  In fact, I didn’t have much pain until about 2:30pm today.  There have been other days when I held off taking pain meds, but felt pain all day.  Today, the pain didn’t start until early afternoon.  Hoorah, progress!  A much-needed change in my physical status.

PROJECT IN SUPPORT OF MINIMALISM THIS WEEK

I don’t have pictures to share regarding my minimalism project today, but will post them tomorrow as if they were posted today.  My project this past week was to paint the metal bed frame we have in our guest room and begin de-cluttering that room and getting rid of superfluous items that have collected there.  This will be a work-in-process for a few weeks, since I have to think about what will replace the shelving units we presently have in this room and figure out what to do with all the bedding I purchased because we had extended family come to stay with us one time and I didn’t have enough sheets and blankets to go around.  That has never happened again, and it was probably nine years ago now that it did happen.  Time to get rid of all those extras that we don’t need, don’t use, and don’t want to store anymore.  Someone will be blessed to have them, but I just want them gone.

When the kiddos were down this week it felt good to have more open space to spread out.  The uncluttered counter tops were filled quickly enough by them, but when they left, so left the clutter.  We are now back to clean lines and easy cleaning.  I am loving this newly evolving minimalist life!

What changes have you seen taking shape in your life recently?  Are you happy or sad about them?

 

