Vacation is over

000work

Okay, so I may not be this happy to be back from vacation, but it is good to revisit my old routines at the office.

SHORT VACATION HIGHLIGHT UPDATE

We Love, Love, LOVE New Hampshire!!! I think I could retire there some day.  We stayed in the Laconia area, close to Meredith, and is this ever God’s country! The Inn at Mills Falls in spectacular looking, but we’ve never stayed there.  I’ll be sharing more about the resorts where we did stay in subsequent posts, but suffice it to say I could percolate around this area all summer long and well into the fall and never tire of it were money no issue.

We are not in love with Bar Harbor, Maine, but Acadia National Park was awesome!

Route 4 across Vermont on the way to Lake George has got to be my all-time favorite driving route.  Talk about scenic!  Amazing! Especially in the Killington, VT area.

We are also in love with the small town charm of Woodstock, Vermont. Gotta stay there some weekend soon!

I think my minimalism lifestyle is beginning to kick in big time–I was really struck by the commercial aspect of Lake George this time around. I never saw that before, though it was obviously there.  This time around, I introduced mister to Bolton’s Landing, where there is a free public park and sand beach. I had found this gem of a park when traveling back from Lake Placid on that vacation with my mom and sister.  I was tired from driving that day, and there it was–this little community park located along the roadside.  I stopped, got out of the car, and walked the park and dock that day alone and vowed I would bring hubs with me next time I was here.  It’s a nice area, but a ways outside of LG…smallish, quieter, and best of all removed from the maddening crowds.  I’m not sure I would like to stay in the hotels in Bolton Landing, but I will be spending more time at the park there when we are in the area again.  Mister loved it too and wants to come back next time we are in Lake George.

Pictures from the back of my camera will be posted later this week. For now, I wanted to check in and say I’m pretty content to be back in the saddle again.

When was the last time you visited New England? Where is your favorite vacation spot?

 

4 thoughts on “Vacation is over

  1. Nice!!! Welcome back! We are so lucky to have a country with so many lovely places to visit! I liked Maine the last time I was in New England. Stayed in a cabin on a lake in logging country.

    • Thank you!

      I wasn’t too impressed with Maine, but I wasn’t there all that long either, and the spot I picked to visit was wayyy too touristy for my liking. I’ll have to try again some time, maybe closer to Portsmouth, something closer to home.

      When you stayed at the cabin in logging country did you see any moose? I would have loved to see a moose while I was there, but I doubt they hang out too much in Bar Harbor.

Comments are closed.