End of September Goals

TGT mast head

Have you ever tried to tackle two really big projects at once?  Yeah, disaster.  Neither of them gets done well, and you walk away feeling like a cheat to either one or the other, maybe both.  That’s how I felt this week as I tried to balance three projects at one time.

  • Three Chiro appointments, each one involving some degree of pain; more after the fact.
  • Three Goals, one of which included following Chiro instructions to the letter.
  • De-cluttering my living space/life, and learning more about minimalism (also a TGT goal).

When I look over this list, just typed, I’m thinking, “Give yourself a break, Lori. You’ve hit 2 of your 3 goals with your weekly projects.  You’re doing okay.”

MY THREE TEENY, TINY GOALS FROM LAST WEEK

1 Pursue a path of recovery with the new chiropractor, doing all he asks me to do in order to help myself in the most effective and efficient way.

2  Continue to learn new methods for paring down, in order to minimize my propensity for indecision.

3  Eat as cleanly as I can, incorporating as many veggies as I can and as much water as I can into my Action Plan for the week.

HOW I DID!

I’m happy to report that I was able to achieve stellar results with both Goal No. 1 and Goal No. 2!!!  I have done everything the new doc has asked me to do regarding my back.  I have iced it through the day at the office, and I have continued to ice it at night, at home, while relaxing. This is what he asked me to do, while he does other things.  Yay, SUCCESS!!!

I have also continued to learn new methods for paring down and tackling deadly indecision.  I’ve made several decisions this past week, all of them involving de-cluttering practices and reading about minimalism, in order to have a better understanding of what I’m doing with this experiment.

I have enjoyed reading the blog a commenter suggested last week.   I started reading with Julie’s December 2014 postings, since here 2015 posts are those that deal with a simpler life, the project that has most piqued my interest this summer.

Goal No 2—ROCKING IT!

Goal No. 3 has also been on my mind this week and I have taken action to achieve it.  Last night, I made a pan of baked oatmeal, my first in a while, and all week long I have been concentrating on getting more veggies into my body.  My body, as always, has responded nicely to the veggie buffet and the whole grain additions to my diet.  Why do I ever leave this kind of eating?  Who knows?  I have also made it my goal to drink more water.  GOAL NO. 3-A WIN!!!

OBSERVATIONS ALONG THE WAY TO VICTORY!

On my way to achieving my goals, I finished up a few projects which just happened to include sorting through the many cook books in my cupboard and donating a few of them before throwing away a bunch of loose recipe sheets I had printed off the internet.  I never used any of them and they fell out of the cupboard every time I reached for one of my regular cook books, so out they went.  I’m going to write about that more on Tuesday of next week, but for now I thought I would share a few shots of my clean space and those cook books I love so much.

Here is what the cupboard now looks like, decidedly less cluttered after the culling.

DSC_0316

And here is a shot of those cookbooks I love and use all the time.

DSC_0330

That Better Homes and Gardens, yeah, I have had that a long time…

Look at that cover. Well worn! Tattered and Stained! Yuck!

DSC_0335

I need to clean this baby.  It has been splattered on for decades without a good shower.  Look at these graphics and design/fashion suggestions from the book. Ha!  Certainly not today’s everything white minimalistic look.

DSC_0339

Look at that copyright date.

DSC_0337

Just keepin’ it real, folks.  I have used this cook book again and again, and really, all the time. I have a new BHAG cook book, but it’s not the same.  Many of the old recipes aren’t there.

DSC_0341

Last grimy picture, of my gram’s Chocolate Mayo Cake handwritten on an index card years ago—always a crowd pleaser and it contains no milk, so works perfectly for my nephew, who is allergic. Also, a typed and printed sheet for School Boy Jumbles, a sugar cookie recipe—the BEST soft sugar cookie recipe in the world!!  No competition here!  Hands down, the B.E.S.T.  I don’t eat many of these nowadays, but once in a while, when the occasion warrants and there will be plenty of folks around to gobble these up, I do make them. They are out of this world delicious!  Really good comfort food!

NEXT WEEK’S GOALS

I’m going to keep my goals the same for yet another week.  Why mess with success, right?  Plus, these teeny, tiny goals are accomplishing great things at my house.  I’ll go with them another week and see where it leads.

What goals have you set for yourself this week?  Did you make sure to make them teeny, tiny and write them down?

 

 

9 thoughts on “End of September Goals

  1. 1.Garden 2. Cut the grass! 3. One box to the local recycling center. Easy peasy? We will see. I suspect the garden will be in my list until the snow falls here 😊

    • L says:

      These sound like great goals to me and teeny, tiny enough to be easily achievable. Our garden is pretty much done for the season, with the exception of some pie pumpkins I still need to pick and process. First time growing them, so I’m psyched to see how it all turns out. I have a lot of pumpkin recipes to work out this fall. Good eats! 🙂

  2. It always feels good to achieve goals! Glad your back is doing better. As an athlete, ice is my BFF 🙂

    In spent much of today sawing and chopping wood and clearing the yard of debris that my good ex-friend Hermine left here during his drive-bye last night!

Comments are closed.