Goal Settin’ Time!

000goalie

As you might remember, I didn’t set goals last week because I was in too much pain.  Heck, I could barely think straight, let alone project into the future to determine what I wanted to DO next week to move my life forward.  When that much pain takes over, you can forgetaboutit as far as the goal setting goes.  It takes all my energy in those moments to show up for work, be half-way productive, and not crumble into a pile of despair on the floor and cry myself to sleep.  I kid you not!

Today, I feel better!  I don’t hurt as much.  I’m more optimistic.  Encouraged, even.

Today, I’m going to set some goals, but they won’t look like those I’ve set in the past.

MINIMALISM!!!!!!!!!!!!

I’m currently on a mission to de-clutter, clear away, donate and rid myself of those things that I see as bringing an imbalance to my life.  I have so much stuff!  I want it gone.  At least I want gone that part of my stuff that is not serving me or my healthy living objectives.

Living minimally, as I understand it, begins with the material stuff. As I’ve moved further into this movement, though, I’ve found a desire to rid myself of other stuff too.  Stuff like junk mail, projects that are not the least bit interesting to me, obligations that tie me down when I want to fly, and relationships that continually lack joy.  In actuality, I ‘ve been culling out those relationships for a while now, I just didn’t see that as minimalistic in nature.  Now I see the value of having less in my life, and I’m already seeing it help with my struggle with indecision.  The more I have, the less able I am to deal with it.

I don’t think that’s a problem for everyone, but it is for me.  I want less stuff. I want less choices.

I’ve even been thinking about how the concept of minimalism can be applied to my diet and the food I bring into the house.  Thinking…thinking…thinking.

MINIMAL GOALS

All this thinking about minimalistic living has filtered down to my goal list.  What I’ll share with you this week is just the tip of the iceberg of the many goal lists I make in my head, on the job, and in my scheduling for outside interests each week.  I have many, many lists. I want less of them.  One way I have decided to minimize the stress and strain on my goal-listing self is to make a pledge this week to have less lists.

THREE TEENY, TINY GOALS

This week I’m going to try something different.  One list with three goals that should be easy to achieve, and leave me wiggle room.

1  Pursue a path of recovery with the new practitioner, doing all he asks me to do in order to help myself in the most effective and efficient way.

2  Continue to learn new methods for paring down, in order to minimize my propensity for indecision.

3  Eat as cleanly as I can, incorporating as many veggies as I can and as much water as I can into my Action Plan for the week.

These goals are wider in scope and allow me wiggle room I need to tackle the “stuff” that I think can bring balance back to my life, without making me list-crazy.  I’ll letcha know how it goes.

What goals do you have for yourself these days?  Are they wide and deep, or narrow and focused? 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Goal Settin’ Time!

    • Thanks for linking those videos you watched. Gonna watch me some, too. 🙂
      Thanks, too, for visiting my blog today. I’m always thrilled to make new friends and learn new things about their amazing lives. Our writing styles are similar, don’t you think? Can’t wait to get to know you better.

      • Thanks. I look forward to getting to know you better also. I agree. We are similar in a lot of ways. Looking forward to reading more of your blogs. I have followed your blog. 🙂

  1. I have been trying to declutter for the last 6 months and I am still amazed at all of the stuff I have! It is the one goal that I have that I have to really force myself to be diligent on.Good luck with your goals. I like your idea of TGT. Nice to meet you.

    • I know, right?! I’m just beginning this journey and already I am seeing the on-going nature of the minimalist lifestyle. I gotta say though, I’m loving it. The more I release, the better I feel, and the practice has a sort of richness to it I didn’t expect, as I learn anew what is valuable to me and what is mere stuff.

      TGT got me started on this journey to balance in life. changeispossibleblog, it got me moving, which has been good. I’d been stagnant and procrastinating too long. Now I feel like I’m making some headway.

      Thanks for stopping by and for the follow. Chime in any time. I love the back and forth. 🙂

Comments are closed.