New Chiro

000chiroYesterday I went to my first visit with the new Chiropractic doctor near my work. I was impressed with him.  My initial thought when entering his outer office was that I was uncomfortable seeing patients lying on tables, getting something done to them where everyone and his brother could see.  It was off-putting and I thought, “Ugh, I so wanted this to work for me.”

See how negative and critical I can get when facing the unknown?

I’m a pretty private person, especially when it comes to my health care, so I didn’t have high hopes for the future of my care with this new practitioner after seeing those folks in the open area of the office.

“Why,” I thought, “would he put people out here in the open for their sessions?”  It was then that I remembered they did the same thing at PT and I had not died from the exposure then.  I wouldn’t die if I had to do this either. Besides, I’m past the point of caring who sees me get better–I just want to get better!!!

One thing I prayed about before going to this appointment was that me and the new doc would click.  Personality ranks high on my list of desired attributes for doctors.  The way I figure it, I’m going to get pretty intimate with these guys and gals, so I want a bit of rapport to take me there. Ya know what I mean?  This guy was aces in the rapport department. Whew!

Before I made my first appointment at his office, I had sent an email to the new doc through his website, inquiring into the services he offered. I was specific about what it was I was looking for, and what I hoped to accomplish by seeing him for my care.  I’m that girl:  Blunt, to-the-point, and very direct.  It was funny because he began the session by addressing that blunt email from me.  “Usually, when we get an email through the website, my secretary, Mary, handles the reply,” he started, “but when yours arrived Mary said, Doctor, can you come over here?  I think you need to see this.”

“Your email was so specific and direct.  As I read it, I shook my head and said to myself, this woman knows what she wants, and what she wants we can do.  Your timing is a little off, though, because you’ve asked for help from our on-staff dietician and she is having a baby and will soon go out on maternity leave, but that doesn’t mean we can’t include that in your care. It just might mean some email exchanges have to replace face-to-face sessions.”

I like that, a man who can think on his feet–a creative problem solver!

The rest of the visit was pretty typical. Xrays of the spine and neck taken, medical history completed, physical exam of the spine performed, instructions about what ought to be done before our next visit given.  I also liked that he said to me, “I’m going to look at your MRI results and previous xrays and then I’ll determine if I can help you.”

IF I can help you?  Who says that?  In this commerce-driven country who ever says that?  Most guys say, “Sure, I can do blah and blah, and then we’ll try blah and blah and everything will be fine.”  Not this guy.  He will see if he can help me.

Impressed!

One other thing happened while I was with doc.  He shared with me that he believes his dad to be a food addict.  Well, what do you know. I am a sugar addict, so we had something personally in common. We talked about my approach to the addiction, and he was interested in it. In me. In helping his dad.

Again, impressed!

While I was waiting for my next appointment, the best part of my visit occurred.  My very favorite part, which I shared on another blog today.  Doc had two wee patients come in while I was waiting my turn to check out. He started their session by challenging them to a race. They lined up against the furthest walls from his office and when he said go, he ran behind them as their arms and legs flailed and their giggles filled the outer office. At the end of their running, the girls willingly settling in for their adjustments. He won me over in those moments!

I’m hooked, because he cared enough to be silly with two little girls.

I’m anxious to return next week and begin on a journey of recovery with the new doctor–IF he can help me.  I’ll letcha know how it goes. Next appointment is Tuesday, Aug 23rd. In the meantime, I’m icing my back side every day.

What is it that initially won you over with your doctor, and/or convinced you to continue seeing him when at first you just weren’t sure?  

 

2 thoughts on “New Chiro

  1. It was important that my doctors were willing to TRULY listen and HEAR my input into my health care decisions. They needed to be willing to accept the role as RESOURCE and second opinion as well as technician and diagnostician. They were the antithesis to the practitioner that states, “my way, or the highway!”

Comments are closed.