Goals and Self-Discovery

000chart

THE CHART

This week I thought I might do a lil bit better with my goals if I made a chart.  It actually turned out pretty good for a hand-made accountability tool. Visuals help, right?  Problem was, I made it, but not until yesterday.

Yeah, shiny things distract me!

Anyway, I made the chart and I filled out the chart, writing down what I had done already this week and yesterday, and then what I did this morning.  I think this chart would have worked well for me had I made it earlier in the week. I have a blank one ready to go for this coming week! I will remember this time. I will!!!

THREE TEENY, TINY GOALS FROM LAST WEEK

1  Get to bed early at last twice this week.  SCORE!  I did get to bed early at least twice this week. In fact, I was in bed early 3x this week.  A big WIN for me! Yay!

2  Make my bed every day this week.  YES YES!!!  I hit the bull’s eye on this one!  I made my bed every day this week and every day it looked great!

3  Dance in the kitchen with the mister for ten minutes, at least three times this week.  FAIL!!!!  Can you believe it?  I did not dance with my mister even once this week. What?!  How could that be?

You would think that finding ten minutes to dance with my mister would be an easy goal, wouldn’t you?  Guess not. Not for me, not this week.  I think this one needs to go back on my list. I’m bummed that I did so poorly on that last goal.  I know hubs would have made time if I had shared the goal and chart with him. Totally my bad on this one, and I’m angry with myself for missing out.  :/

WHAT I LOVE ABOUT MY SMALLER-THAN-USUAL GOALS

I like setting goals as a means of keeping myself focused on needed improvements and self-care.

Setting goals helps me to see where I’m robbing from what matters most to me, in order to support what matters least.  Without the goal list, I doubt I would recognize defeating patterns developing, let alone find the energy and impetus to address them.

Finally, this week I noticed a couple of nights I came home feeling like my partner hadn’t done enough during the day.  He’s retired, while I’m still working, which creates a sometimes challenging dynamic for me.  This imbalance in our work schedules can lead me into a pity party.  I’d like to be a stay-at-home self-employed glamour granna, but have yet to figure that one out!!! Last night I realized I had landed in that space again—that dissatisfied and grumbling, why-can’t-you-see-this-needs-to-be-done-without-me-reminding-you space, and had to once again check myself!  Ugh!

Do any of the rest of you hate unrealistic expectations, and yet still get trapped by them sometimes?  I hate that!

MORE TEENY, TINY GOALS FOR ANOTHER WEEK

This week, I’m going to keep my goals simple and the same.  I’m especially going to be focused on dancing with my hubby in the kitchen for at least 10 minutes on three separate occasions this week.  Anyone have a romantic mixed tape they can loan me?

1  Get to bed early at last twice this week. 

2  Make my bed every day this week. 

3  Dance in the kitchen with the mister for ten minutes, at least three times this week. 

What goals will you set for yourself this week?  When have your expectations for yourself or others been too high?

 

5 thoughts on “Goals and Self-Discovery

  1. Perhaps you need to think of goals like clothes in your closet, but with a different time frame. For example, if you achieve a goal well for a while, like wearing a particular dress, it doesn’t need to be on the list anymore because you are doing it. On the other hand, if you are not wearing the dress even though it is on the list after a while, give the dress away – get the goal off the list and make room for an achievable goal. Unless, of course, you really don’t want to achieve your goals. I know you are into the tiny goal thing, but if something had a goal of going a mile, for example, a snail would not be a good thing to model one’s behavior after. I sincerely hope you don’t run out of time for your goals.

Comments are closed.