Over-the-Moon with Joy!

Today kicks off the holiday weekend and a series of festivities on the hill.  This week’s weather has been incredible in NEPA. Now, if it just stays that way through tomorrow evening I will be happy.  Make that more than happy. Make that giddy, thrilled…over-the-moon with joy happy!  I want so badly for us all to have a good time together and when the venue is outdoors, that means good weather is a necessity.

This morning we began our weekend of family fun with a Galentine’s Day Ladies-Only Breakfast, the first where I played hostess for the event.  It went really well!

Woohoo, I love it when a plan comes together!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Here is a picture of the lovely ladies that shared breakfast with me this morning:

DSC_0708Aren’t they gorgeous?!  These are the fems in my fam, and I love them all.

We did have a few Y chromosomes in the crowd this morning. Pa had to work during our breakfast hour, so the wee boys were forced to join our group. They were well behaved for wee boys, and I think they enjoyed the Galentine’s theme as much as the gals did, especially the edible heart-shaped candies I distributed around the table top—you know, those kind you get on paper and you have to peel them off with water to put on your cakes at birthday time.  The boys enjoyed gobbling them up, as did a few of the ladies.

Here’s another pic, this time with me in the mix. I’m half way down the table on the right hand side.  I think I need a new hair style.  This one looks out of sync with my personality these days, plus it is hard to maintain.  I might go shorter. What do you think?

000at the tableI left the house early this morning so that I could decorate before any of the lovelies arrived, but wouldn’t you know it, a few came early.  I’m never early, so I rarely expect that of others!  It all looked so nice when I was done, but keeping it real, I want to share some misgivings I had before I went to this event.

On the drive down the hill to the venue, I kept thinking, “I should have done this.  Why didn’t I do that? What I’ve done is not enough!” I’m the queen of second-guessing!  I went so far as to stop at the Dollar Store to pick up some trinkets on the way, but as I was filling my arms with junky junk, I said, “Stop!” I put the things I had in my arms back and left the store.  I was frustrated with myself. That’s when I decided I needed to check in with my Friend in the Sky.

I pulled into a secluded spot in the parking lot and took a minute.  It was right, good, and appropriate for me to do so.  So many times we women think we are not enough. We have to do more, be more, perform for the world.  I hate that!  My Friend does too!  We do not have to do that. We are enough.  Our love is enough.  That we eeked out some time in our lives to celebrate with our loves is enough.  Finally, I was satisfied, and guess what:  I went, I saw, and it was—ENOUGH!

One other thing:  In preparation for this Galentine’s event I created little prompts to share with the ladies; questions written on little pieces of paper.  I asked each lady to take one.  I wanted us to make an effort to know each other better.  We live miles apart and life is ever-changing, so I thought it would be neat to create a way for us to connect on a deeper level at this breakfast.  These questions did the trick.  They got people sharing-personal stuff, deeper level stuff, encouraging stuff, and relatable stuff!  Yay!

Ironically, my piece of paper said this:  What is your recipe for continued joy and happiness?

What?!  Can you believe that?  We didn’t have time to get to my question, and I’m kinda glad we didn’t because you know I struggle to find joy in my life, and holding on to it—forgetaboutit!  Getting that question this morning from the grab bag, though, it helped me see that my greatest joy is experienced in those moments when I invest myself in other people, particularly those people I love and with whom I share a history.  These were MY peeps, and these were MY JOY!

I think that Joy-Loan I went looking for earlier this week may have been delivered to my door step without me knowing.  I’ll letcha know when I come back next week and report on our Saturday Family Shindig on the Hill.  Until then, have a safe and happy Fourth of July!!  😀

What will you be doing on the fourth of July?  When have you been to an event that really hit-the-spot for you?  Why was it so right?

 

 

One thought on “Over-the-Moon with Joy!

  1. Looks like a real good time for all. You look terrific in the picture as well. Keep making joy so you can stop trying to search for it. 🙂 Have a wonderful 4th.

Comments are closed.