Goals for June 5-11

000less sugar

This past week has been a wild one.  Mr and me celebrated together one birthday, one anniversary, and one prayer session at a friend’s property after his barn rebuild collapsed.  We attended one bridal shower, one feeding-of-the-geese at the lake session (goslings included), and hosted our first church-at-home service, a one-time event that fit the circumstances on Sunday.  It’s a long story, but a blessed one.  All in all, I would say it has been a banner week for us, having family in town and celebrating our youngest wee one’s birthday with family, including water balloons and catching up on all the family gossip.  Family..Family…Family!  I learn so much from my family and friends!

The mention of learning brings into focus my goals for this week.

MY THREE TEENY TINY GOALS THIS PAST WEEK

1  Read 3 chapters of a current healthy-living publications and blog about what Ive learned.

2  Continue IF-ing this week, for at least three days. IF=Intermittent Fasting

3  Focus on bringing the balance back–with food, fun, family, and future plans.

HOW I DID!

Goal No. 1 was a fail AGAIN this week!  Ugh!  Conclusion:  My mind and my ambitions are not set on reading about what other people are doing to get healthy right now.  That being the case, I have decided to quit this goal.

Reminder to Self:  A fail doesn’t mean we quit the whole of the project.  Just that it’s time to prioritize a lil better.

I found my greatest success and focus with Goal No. 3 this week: Balance.  High motivation here!  This goal stayed with me all week and I feel like I accomplished a lot while working on it.  This goal stayed front and center in my mind.  That’s a good goal!  I will be putting this goal back on my list for another week, as I try again to bring back the balance between fun, family, fitness and future plans.

Goal No. 2 also went well!  I was able to IF 3 times, even though the week was a hectic one with a crazy schedule attached.  I have also reintroduced a vegetables-only policy at lunch, which profited me greatly a few years ago.  I feel so much better when I eat more veggies!

WHAT I LEARNED THIS WEEK FROM MY GOALS

You can stand strong even when life has tried its best to knock you down.  Scott and Lydia, we continue to pray for you as you work on your property to restore what we taken by fire.

Hosting an event at my house makes me grouchy.  Am I alone in this?  Stressful!

Bringing back the balance to my life means I have to look more closely at three areas:  Diet, Exercise, and Relationships.

Splenda makes my kidneys restless and stressed.  Seriously, I am looking HARD at this substance when considering balance in my diet going forward.  I must have gone to the ladies room every hour the last two days, and I wondered why??  No big influx of sugar in my diet, so why was I peeing so much?  Then I remembered that I had the coffee shop put a lil cream and Splenda in my coffee on Tuesday and Wednesday morning this week (something I don’t usually do, but wanted to treat myself for all my hard work lately–when will I quit using food as a reward???).  Yikes, I was running to the bathroom all day those days.  What’s up with that?  Back-to-black  for this gal today, and I am seeing a world of difference, re: bathroom frequency!

THREE TEENY TINY GOALS FOR NEXT WEEK

1  Continue practicing my IF-ing plan, 2-3 days this week.

2  Bring back the balance in life by intentionally planning better with regards to fun, food, family, and future planning. We go to get our passports tomorrow. Yippeee!

3  Walk at least 3 times this week.

I have noticed that the time I have put into planning to walk and walking has been smaller and smaller lately. That needs to change!  I will be spending more time walking this week, as well as trying to exercise in other ways.

What teeny tiny thing have you learned about yourself this week by intentionally observing your routine?  Does Splenda make you run to the bathroom?

2 thoughts on “Goals for June 5-11

  1. I avoid Splenda. If you want to use an artificial sweetener, but don’t want any of the newer ones, Saccharin (the pink one) is probably the safest.

    • But the pink one tastes so yucky! 😦 I have also found that Splenda causes increased ringing in my ears, so can’t figure out why I thought adding it to my coffee was a good idea. Dumb move!

Comments are closed.