Do the Difficult First!

000mark twainif-its-your-job-to-eat-a-frog-its-best-to-do-it-first-thing-in-the-morning-mark-twain

A long time ago, when the dinosaurs roamed the earth, I put off unpleasant tasks until last-minute.  I stalled and stalled, and stalled, until I could stall no more, then I grudgingly did that thing I had been dreading doing.

Today, all that has changed! Somewhere along recovery road I learned that its best to eat my big frogs early in the day, in order to get their nasty taste out of my mouth as soon as possible.

That’s why I always schedule dentist and doctor appointments for first thing in the morning; 8:00am or earlier, if I can get ’em.

It’s also why I circle back around quickly to apologize for a slip of the tongue or a word too harshly spoken.

I can’t afford to wait, and if you’re eating a croaker, neither can you.

I think Mark had it right–when dealing with the big frogs of life, eat early and eat quickly.  Around noon time on a sunny day all bets are off that they might in any way taste palatable!

Lesson Learned:  Dry or sweaty frog meat is horrible, so embrace life with gusto and get the smelly stuff out of the way early in the day.

Are you more reactive or proactive in life?  When has waiting to deal with the frogs in your life caused you problems?

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Do the Difficult First!

  1. I live by this philosophy. It provides motivation to look forward to activities in life we enjoy. It also assures you get the unwanted tasks accomplished.

    • Seriously speaking, a lil change like this brought me so much serenity, it was unbelievable. I used to worry about having to do this or that, and I would spend the whole day obsessing about it. Now, I get it done first thing and the rest of my day is peaceful and productive. Funny how the smallest tweaks can benefit us the most!

    • My dental hygienist must be a morning person. She’s always so chipper at 8:00am. Me, not so much the last time I saw her. It was the day of the dreaded speedy ticket caper, which I have yet to recover from.

      She probably wondered, “Why so dour?” I did not confess. LOL

  2. I also like to get up early every morning. My wife and I get up at 445 am on most days and pray and meditate together. After that, we go about our tasks and comittments. By 9am both of us have gotten a lot done; and there is still a lot of time left in the day.
    Moshe

    • I’m never happy to be awake at 4:45am, but on those days when I rise early I am more productive, no question!

      And there is a lot to be said for getting the nasty stuff done early. Doing that makes the rest of the day much less stressful, for sure.

Comments are closed.