Cravings, Be Gone!

Today I had a thought about my food plan…

For a while, I have been skipping my daily sojourn in search of lunch and instead have been eating my first meal of the day later in the day, beginning with home-made oatmeal at lunch.

I’ve also switched to almond milk, instead of dairy on my oatmeal.

I’ve made sure I have fresh fruit to go with the oats, which already has walnuts in it.

When I baked my last batch of the baked oatmeal, I used half the amount of sugar that the recipe calls for, and it’s still sweet with 1/3 cup of raw sugar added to a 9-10 serving batch.

I replace half of the oil called for in the recipe with natural, no-sugar added applesauce.

I usually put blueberries on top before digging in.

It’s all good tasting, good for me, and a slow-acting infusion into my blood stream that results in lower BGLs and its helping me stop the cravings!!!!

What I realized today is that not getting in the car, not searching for lunch when I’m already hungry, and not eating something sugar-laden or factory-made (ie: highly processed foods), is helping me help myself.

Used to be, the time between lunch and dinner was my hardest time with food. It was that time of the day when I craved a snack the most.  I think it was more about boredom than hunger, but nonetheless, in the afternoon was when I wanted to get in trouble with food.

I talked with another compulsive over eater this week, discussing plans for eating boring foods at supper in an effort to quit the mind games we COEs suffer from.  The way this individual sees it, planning a supper that doesn’t include “favorite” foods, even if one can eat them other times, provides for a more tranquil day.  I’m in!!!

Serenity now, instead of in some distant fantasized time!  Sounded good to me!

It made sense, and this afternoon I realized that I had been doing the very same thing, but in my own way.  Ha!  Together, we get better!

Do you have a specific time, day or night, when you want to eat more than you need?  What tactics have you employed in order to fight back against food cravings?

Here is my Baked Oatmeal recipe again…

Lori’s Baked Oatmeal

2/3 cup raw sugar (I cut sugar in half, but recipe calls for this amount)
2 eggs
1/4 cup oil
1/4 cup no sugar added applesauce
1 cup almond milk
1 tsp vanilla (optional)

2 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp salt
2 tsp non-aluminum baking powder
3 cups old fashioned oats

Raisins and walnut, as desired (I add a handful of nuts and half handful of raisins.
Directions: Mix all wet ingredients in a bowl. Add dry ingredients and mix well. Add the fruit and nuts, mixing well. Spray an 8X8 pan with Pam and bake at 350 for 30-40 minutes.
I take it out when the top is a little brown, but if you want, you can finish at 30 minutes.
Serve warm or pack it for lunch. Its incredibly satisfying and good for you!
Makes 9-12 servings

2 thoughts on “Cravings, Be Gone!

  1. I enjoy an after dinner “something” when I drink a large cup of espresso coffee. (Caffeine does not keep me awake.) I have started turning to nuts AND smaller protein bars. They satisfy a snack, chocolate (protein bar) and provide just enough calories to balance out my day.

Comments are closed.