It isn’t Braggadocio

000humility

This morning I had this niggling thought pushing at the serenity in my head.  Oh, no, its that inner critic again!  He has so much to say about what I think, what I say, and how I write.  Ugh. He is an annoying character, for sure.

What my inner critic was fretting about this time was whether or not my Three Goals Thursday post this wee had ventured into the area of braggadocio.  He insisted I think about it and draw a rational conclusion.

He is such an annoying character!

I did think about it though, because I can rarely shut him up until I do, and I did wonder if he was right, which confused me. He loves it when I’m confused.

What I decided in the end is that I know that achieving three goals I have set for myself each week is exciting for me.  It is encouraging, to me.  It is building confidence in me, and it is encouraging others to give goal setting a try.

If congratulating myself on a job well done is a form of hubris, then call me proud.  I don’t happen to think it is.

I believe I shared here about that talk I recently did with a MOPS ground in NEPA. I was asked to speak on confidence and how women can not only exist in this life, but flourish in the process of existing.  One of those I counseled with before giving the talk shared that, for them, confidence is built by planning to do good things in this world and then following through with that plan.  For this forty-something fella, speaking affirmations to oneself in the mirror was a usless attempt to feel confident in one’s self.  For him, the proof of confident was displayed through doing.

I loved what he had to say on the subject and agreed with him. It feels good to do something good in this world, and especially when that good is done to others.

All this to say that I hope my posts of late haven’t come across to my readers as braggadocio, but rather, as a growing confidence in my abilities to do good in this world, first in my life, and then in the lives of others.  As I share my three goals and my successes or failures with them each week, I am sharing as honestly as I know how one method for getting moving on the good things in life.

I’m sharing one way to stop procrastinating and start moving.

Please don’t mistake my confidence for braggadocio. I assure you I am smiling as I post about my goal setting and successes, and never smirking in the process.

I’d love to hear from some of you, how you’re smiling through life and accomplishing your goals.  If you have something to share, do good to this gal over here in the corner and share freely about it in the comments below.  Together, we can turn down the volume on the inner critics that keep us from doing good in this world.  Together, we can get better.

Change IS possible for as long as we have breath in our lungs.  Let’s get started with the good stuff today!

Do you have an inner critic that constantly complains about the things you say, feel, or do? How do you shut him or her down, and get on with the task of putting good things out there in the wide world around you?

