1 Hope, 2 Migraines, 3 Goals

ThreeGoals-AlternativeAs I begin this post today, it is with a spattering of hope in my heart.  The scale is heading back down again after some changes in my eating patterns, and I couldn’t be more delighted to see the change.

ONE HOPE

At this time, my hope is that I can continue to see the number on the scale decrease, and that I can continue with the new eating patterns that are making this change possible.

Woohoo, I’m excited for the future.

TWO MIGRAINES

There is definitely something different going on with me the last little while. It has become unpleasantly clear that my body is going through yet another physical change.  I have experienced 2 migraine headaches in the last two weeks.  No fun!  Both have included oral distortions followed by pain in my face and forehead, and that feeling of being fuzzy-headed the next day.  So NOT fun.  Yesterday’s headache came on during the final stage of our trip back from the Amtrak station in Rochester, NY.  Of course, I was driving when I began to experience vision problems.

I was shocked to have had another migraine this month!  I’ve only ever had three of them, with the first being atypical and without pain. That one happened about 7 years ago. Then on Wednesday, Feb 10th, my second migraine hit.  It was early, about 6:45am, like the other time. Yesterday’s migraine began with the crazy electric rainbow in my field of vision and was followed by the usual symptoms. Not atypical at all.  Ugh. One thing I know, I’m not liking the re-occurence of these migraines.  I think yesterday’s was linked to dehydration and eating out.  I have a salad at Bob Evans, with their Wildfire Salad dressing on it.  I went light on the dressing, but the chicken was glazed, too.  Yikes, maybe that was it???!

THREE GOALS

I’m going to make notes re: success levels for each goal that was on my list last week, letting you know how I did as I list them off today.

1 DONE AND DONE!  Send a special note to my friend this week, telling her how proud I am of her for what she’s planning to do and telling her honestly, from my heart, how much I will miss her once she is gone.

I sent the note, and she was blessed.  Yay, I love it when a plan comes together!!!

2 DONE, BUT THE VERDICT IS STILL OUT ON THIS ONE.  Bring concepts of faith and empowerment into the meeting I will be attending on Saturday, offering positive suggestions for the future and sharing my ideas about how we can be more inclusive with the community around us going forward.

I commented on this goal and its accomplishment previously.  You can read about that here.  I mentioned emphatic speech in that post and felt kinda weird about it later.  I’m not a big talker most of the time–I listen well. I hope everyone understands that I did not blast anyone at the meeting and my comments were civil. I guess I just judge myself harshly in this area of my life because my default setting is that of a people pleaser. 

3 YES!!!!! Exercise for 15 minutes each day, and use controlled fasting to cut back on calorie counts this week.

I accomplished this third goal every day this week and feel pretty good about that. Most of the exercise I did this past week was done on the bike.  I was just glad to get any of it done, since I am still kinda hurty, especially after having the wee ones in the house for 5 days last week.

3 GOALS FOR THIS WEEK

1  Investigate small group options for getting together with some lady friends of mine in the near future. If I don’t make this goal, it won’t get done, but getting started on the project should be teeny enough that I can accomplish it.

2  Continue on with current eating patterns for one more week.

3  Exercise for 15 minutes each day this week.

There you have it–my list for this week. This list isn’t glamorous, but it does reflect a “steady as she goes” mentality, and that’s important to me right now.

EXPECTATIONS

I’m expecting this week’s goals to get smashed.  I’m expecting that outcome because of all the work I have already done with my lil goals.  I’m becoming more confident as I set goals every week.  I know I can do what I’ve said I will do.  I can do anything for one week, and so can you!

NEGATIVITY DOESN’T WORK–NOT FOR THIS GIRL

One final thing before I go:  If you have someone in your life who keeps expecting more of you than you can give, consider turning down the volume on them in some way this week.  Maybe email them less often. Maybe pray for them more often. Maybe look at why their opinion is so important to you.  Maybe open yourself to another dynamic right now.  It’s always good to change things up from time to time, and especially good to re-evaluate the things we are doing in our lives that are either working or not. Take a look at your “working” list this week, and be good to yourself by making some changes.  Change IS possible. I know, I’ve done it. You can too!

What changes will you make in your life this week?  What goal is out there calling to you, “..walk this way”? 

 

One thought on “1 Hope, 2 Migraines, 3 Goals

Comments are closed.