Goals Update

SUCCESS!!!

I’m smashing my goals this week!

Obliterating them!!!

MY GOALS THIS WEEK

What were those goals?  To 1. send a letter to encourage another, 2. take my concept of faith and empowerment into a meeting I would be attending on Saturday, and 3. Exercise 15 minutes per day, and use planned fasting to control calories eaten.

As of today, I have sent the note and received back a huge thank you for the recipient; I have attended the meeting and took as much faith and empowerment to it as I could muster, given that I don’t do well with administrative stuff.  Odd, since I am an office manager and deal with it all the time.  I have also exercised every day for at least 15 minutes, doing most of that on the recumbent bike, and have made a decision to skip breakfast this week as a part of my controlled fasting goal.

Yay, it feels so good to be making progress this week!

REFLECTIONS ON FAITH AND EMPOWERMENT

It funny, or ironic, that when I headed out to the meeting on Saturday, I did so with dread in my heart.  I’m a person who usually has exceptionally strong faith, and I am a huge fan of empowerment through communications, but I was weak going into this meeting and here is the reason why.

My mouth!

Yep, you heard me right.  I have a desire to be helpful in this world and in these types of meetings, but it is often the case that my emphatic ways of making my point come across as hostility.

This habit I have of being emphatic at planning meetings has gotten me into trouble in the past, so these days I do two things to avoid the problem being emphatic can cause (for me).  1.  I don’t attend planning meetings unless I absolutely have to, and 2. I sit on my hands and try to zip my lip while I am in meetings I don’t want to should not attend.

Some days neither solution works for me.

Prior to these meetings what usually happens is that someone will nonchalantly mention the meeting to me and say, “You should go.”  I change the subject.  Then someone else will grab me and say, “We need you in this meeting. I know you have an analytical mind and I respect you as a person. Won’t you please join us?”  Of course, I say yes to these kinds of requests. I’m a sucker for anyone who says they need me.  Ugh.

Once I’m in the meeting and trying to be a silent observer, those around me will notice that I am being unusually quiet and will say something like, “Lori, we haven’t heard from you yet. What do you think?”  Of course I feel obliged to chime in then, and in emphatic ways.

You know those people who say they only know two speeds, slow and stop. I’m kinda like that in reverse with my speech in planning meetings.

This week, during this meeting, I wanted to possess an unusual amount of faith in my ability to perform well at the meeting, and I wanted to feel empowered while we met.  I can’t say I felt that way during this meeting–sheer will power was not enough to equip me with the strengths I needed to get the job done.  Still, a wonderful thing happened.  Others approached me after the meeting, saying how empowering the meeting felt to them, how the meeting met so many needs, and how much hope they have that initiatives discussed at the meeting will actually be implemented.

What??!

Could it be we all took a lil bit of faith and empowerment into that meeting, and when mingled together it was enough to get ‘er done?  Maybe.

Today I am feeling stronger and more empowered in my life.  The scale is moving down again, after making some changes to my eating patterns and that feels incredibly empowering.  I have more energy than in a long time, and I feel like I’m getting some intuitive answers to the problems I’ve been facing. Especially problems related to emphatic speech.

I hope you are feeling full of faith in yourself this week, and that you’re smashing your goals and kicking butt in your journey to recovery. I know I am feeling encouraged, and it’s only Tuesday!  I’ll be back Thursday with another update and a new week of goals.  Until then, take care of yourself.

When has emphatic speech hurt you? When has it helped you?

 

2 thoughts on “Goals Update

Comments are closed.