Professional Affirmations

000doctor

Yesterday, I made a trip up north to see my dermatologist.  Being Nordic, I have fair skin that is prone to problems, so I’m good about getting annual check-ups.

Have you noticed that there is a shortage of skin doctors in your area?

There for sure is in NEPA.

I had to travel for an hour to be seen yesterday because the clinics closer to me aren’t scheduling appointments at this time, but it was sooooo worth it!  Not only did my doc not find any noteworthy problems with my derma, but she asked me about my weight loss journey.  She told me she thought I looked like I had lost weight since I saw her last.  I hadn’t.  I think what she was seeing was all the toning that has occurred because of the morning exercise I’ve religiously done the last few months.

Thank you, Three Goals Thursdays!

Honestly, I’ve been pretty bummed lately about my progress with the whole body image/weight loss/getting healthy process.  I read a lot about losing weight and exercising, and it seems like I’m falling behind the pack.

Like I’m losing ground and don’t have the energy or the mental fortitude to do more than I’m currently doing.

Sometimes I seriously think I could benefit from a stretch in food rehab; some place where I could get some one-on-one, tailored planning and counseling on food addiction.

Today was a breath of fresh air; a chance to chat with a professional who affirmed me in my efforts and hailed the progress I’ve made and how I’ve accomplished what I have.

Doc was excited by the amount of weight I’d lost and how I’d kept it off, and when I confessed that I’d struggled lately, she encouraged me.  She didn’t say, “Why haven’t you done more, or why have you quit?”

She did say, “Give yourself a break, you’re not a super hero. You’re a real human with a real life, and you’re doing great.”

Seriously, I could have cried…

I don’t know how many of you reading this are struggling with a goal you have for yourself and feeling defeated in the process.  I don’t know how many of you might feel like you’re going backward, instead of forward.  If you do feel that way, let me encourage you. You are you. You are human. You are loved, and you will get there!  You are not super human. You are mortal. Be kind to yourself today, and be okay with the progress you’ve already made. Celebrate what you’ve already done, as well as what you’ve attempted.  More successes are on the way, if you don’t give up.

Never give up!

I believe in You!

When have you felt defeated by a lack of progress?  Who needs to be encouraged by you today?

4 thoughts on “Professional Affirmations

  1. What a great thing to say! So many doctors are constantly talking about weight loss or how far you are from “the ideal” that they forget their patients can be real people with feelings

Comments are closed.