5 Minute Monday

sample_3

This morning I’m rolling out my latest challenge: 5 Minute Monday.

What is 5 Minute Monday?

Just this…

5 Minute Monday is my chance and yours to do something we have been putting off, avoiding, or thinking about starting before procrastination got in the way.  It’s our chance to follow through on projects that in the past have gotten sidetracked.  It’s a chance to begin again, start over, or just plain begin.

It’s a lil five minute investment that could lead to big returns.

Don’t believe me?

Let me share with you something my friend did last week. She’s been joining me in my TGT challenges, and last week one of her teeny, tiny goals was to walk 5 minutes every day.  She’s just getting started on her renewed walking program, but she is finding that a million things happen in her day that threaten to keep her from walking for 5 minutes.

I can relate.

Our world is full of distractions that can easily pull us away from what we said we would do if we are not terribly determined.  My friend is retired, so you would think she’d have plenty of time during the day to get in her 5 minute walking goal, but she doesn’t.  Instead, she has people pulling at her from all sides, knowing she doesn’t work any more and wanting her to do something for them.  In reality, their work.  She has a hard time saying no to them, especially when the work she’s asked to do involves grandbabies.

Again, I can relate.  🙂

On this day, it was nearly the end of the day when my friend remembered she had to go grocery shopping still, and she had not yet done her 5 minutes of walking. What was she to do?  It was dark out, she was pooped, and she still had to walk the aisles at the grocery store and get all her staples for the week.

Her solution:  She asked her husband to drop her at the front door and then park the car while she walked around the perimeter of the store for 5 minutes before shopping for grocery. Score!

Here is a case of my friend wanting to be true to a promise made to herself, but having to do so in a creative way.  She was thinking on her feet, and it all worked out. Woohoo!  Best of all, it only took 5 minutes to complete my friend’s workout and stay true to herself.  Her solution to a time management problem made me think, and during meditation (one of my goals this week), I was reminded how she solved her problem. I thought, “maybe I can solve my problems the same way.”

The idea for 5 Minute Mondays was born!

I’ve been thinking all weekend about what I would choose to do today for my 5 glorious minutes, free of nasty procrastination. There are so many possibilities and because my super power is indecision you can imagine I had a tough time nailing down just one 5-minute project to address.

I decided that today I’m going to spend 5 minutes reading literature that came with my new sugar meter.  I’ve had the new meter a while, but haven’t used it yet. Why? Because of dirty rotten, nasty, and disagreeable procrastination.  Today that changes!  Today I address this new meter and the info that will help me use it with a greater sense of confidence.

It’s only 5 minutes, right?  I can do that.

I can’t wait to hear what you’ve decided to do with your 5 minutes today.  Please leave a comment below and loop me in.  I’m excited to see how 5 lil minutes can change our day or week.  Let’s give it a test run today.

What will your 5 Minute Monday challenge be? 

6 thoughts on “5 Minute Monday

  1. I’m going to spend 5 minutes today and get the last of my Christmas stuff put away in it’s proper box (I KNOW. SO EMBARRASSING). Maybe tomorrow I’ll spend another 10 minutes putting my regular artwork back up in my living room 😉

    • Oh, I love that Cheyanne! And don’t you dare be embarrassed by that, cuz then I would have to be too. I still have my mantel dressed for Christmas, and I still have ornaments hanging from the pass way between the kitchen and the living room. You’ve inspired me to do something about that. Maybe tomorrow! 🙂

Comments are closed.