Three Goals Thursday

000StopStallToday is Thursday.  Yay!!!!!  Having gotten over the hump for another week is a good reason to celebrate, so let’s do it.  Let’s stop stalling, and start dancing!!!

I had begun to take my own advice about happy dancing over here in NEPA when I realized that I owed you an update, so let’s get to it.

Click here for a reminder of my goals from last week, but what I really want to talk about for the majority of my time with you this morning is what I learned about myself while working to achieve my three teeny, tiny goals this week.

WHAT I LEARNED ABOUT ME THIS WEEK

Recording what I’m eating and how I’m feeling about my eating helps me better understand my proclivities both when eating and when I’m away from food. The best thing about this improved clarity I am gaining from setting goals and working to achieve them, is that I am beginning to be able to identify eating patterns. I can see how this new ability to see my eating patterns might help me program my eating in the future, so I’m excited about this new development.

Sugar makes me logy and hurty.

Sometimes, because I’m sleepy in the morning, I need to stick with stretchy and bendy exercises, instead of “going hard” at my dark morning routine.

True Story: I fell while doing a squat in the early morning hours this week. I honestly thought I was doing well with my squatting exercises until my “temple” toppled.  I laughed when it happened, then I immediately prayed I didn’t wake up the Mr.  He seemed to still be snoring, so I was good on that front.  Plus, I still had my sense of humor intact. Win/Win!!

I thought I was awake and fully balanced.  Really I did!

When something starts to consistently hurt, make a change. On Wednesday morning I hurt a lot. Probably as a result of the added sugar I ate on my stress-filled days (Monday and Tuesday). Ugh. Anyway, hurting as I was, and being tempted to do nothing, as I was, I decided to stretch and bend and leave it at that Wednesday morning, and it was a good decision.

When stress is high, friends meet the need. On Tuesday the stress levels at work were big–a lot bigger than normal. Everything about my routines there is changing and I am powerless to stop the process.  More on this later.  Notable for me this week, is that I reached out to others who I trust when I was crazy stressed, and I asked them to help me recenter myself. They did, and I was grateful. I hate how bad habits with food seem to appear when life gets tough.  Truth:  I felt emotionally food crazy for two days, it’s true, but the “feeling” didn’t last for two months. That’s progress!

MY CALORIE COUNTING SAGA CONTINUES

When I look at the progress I made this week with my three teeny, tiny goals, I feel good. I exercised and meditated as planned all week.  Calorie counting and attention to portion control went okay, too.  Not my favorite thing to do, for sure (I think you understand that), but I did count my calories every day (see chart below), and I even separated out my protein calories, so I kept those promises made to myself this week and I made some progress re: developing habits that will unconsciously move me through life in the future, and that feels good.

I guess having fulfilled each of my three teeny, tiny goals for this week 100% of the time makes me 100% on task and A Winner this week, but I am feeling oddly un-winner-ish at the point of this reporting.  Truth: Feelings have been screaming to have their say this week, and I’m not “feeling” all that happy about that.

Lesson learned: There is definitely an emotional component to eating, planning, doing, and living inside the circle of change.  I wish there were not, but for me, there is!  Dang!

I’m still not shooting for a calorie goal/cut off with my habit-building experiment at this time, so what I did this week was simply record the numbers and keep them for reporting here.

Below, you’ll find the evidence of my work to meet Goal No. 3 this week:

Thursday, Dec 10   TC:1713        PC: 551
Friday, Dec 11        TC:1846        PC: 620
Saturday, Dec 12   TC:1330        PC: 500
Sunday, Dec 13     TC:1610        PC: 327
Monday, Dec 14    TC:1970         PC: 500
Tuesday, Dec 15   TC:1718         PC: 636
Wed, Dec 16         TC:1537         PC:547

*TC=Total Calories eaten         PC=Protein Calories eaten

I paid some attention to portion sizes this week, especially at dinner time, which is my heaviest meal of the day. I need to brainstorm a way to make this meal lighter, and I don’t think portion sizes will help there.  If you have a suggestion, please share it in the comments.  I hate to eat only salads at dinner time, because Mr uses this meal as his main eating event of the day, and really the only time he sits to eat and eats any kind of veggies at all.

THREE TEENY, TINY GOALS FOR NEXT WEEK

Since I am feeling like I have not yet developed a habit with counting calories, or even decided if this is how I want to approach food in the future, I think I may give the practice one more week of my attention before making a decision whether to go further with the CC part of my present routine.  That means next week’s goals will be:

1. Continue on with 15 minutes of exercise each morning.
2. Continue on with 5 minutes of meditation each morning.
3. Count calories for the week, watching portion sizes.

One last thing:  Dr. J has some great suggestions for making the holiday eating/drinking seasons merrier this year.  If I were you, I’d hop on over to Calorie Lab and check out the information he shared there yesterday. Good stuff. My favorites from his list?  No. 6 and No. 11–so important for keeping things in perspective when the house, the office, and your friends homes are full, full, full of sugar laden goodies and liquid cheer.

What goal of yours is turning into a habit as you practice, practice, practice doing it each day?  Is calorie counting the way to keep eating excesses at bay?  What do you think?

4 thoughts on “Three Goals Thursday

  1. Protein percentage looks to be around 30% which would be considered a higher protein diet. With a history of sugar issues, this will likely be beneficial. I will encourage you to continue to track your foods. Using a computer program will make it much simpler for the long haul even though I know you are not a fan of being tied to the computer. I have been tracking my foods since 1995 and have gained great insight into modifications needed because of the information.

    Emotional eating is simply a reality. It becomes easier to control over time as the body’s hormones reset with lifestyle changes.

    Notice how 5 minutes of exercise (that became painful at 8 minutes) is now up to 15 minutes. You are placing 3X the effort and amount of time without complaining of fearful pain. How cool is that?

    Keep up the great effort. You are truly a winner!

  2. Thank you for the mention, Lori!!

    I learned something running today. A few days ago I raised my running distance by 33%. I ran that distance again today. It was much harder than the first time. The reason was the first time I was excited at running a longer distance. This time I had to do it with just wanting to. Still finished and felt good about that.

    • Yay, You! You WIN!!! And that’s how it’s done. It must have felt wonderful to complete that kinda run twice in a row. I’m so excited for you. I think it’s an unbelievable feat, and I wish I could match it. 🙂

Comments are closed.