Three Goals Are Teaching Me Self-Control

ThreeGoals-Alternative
Anyone who is reading this on Thanksgiving in America, thanks for stopping by and checking in on me on the holiday. You Rock!!!

Happy Thanksgiving!!!

Long time readers of my blog know that I set three goals for myself each Thursday, then I work to achieve them throughout the week. What they may not realize is that I decided at the beginning of November that I would continue working on the same three goals throughout the month. If you read on, you will see how I am doing with my Three Goals Thursday initiative, but before you do I wanted to tell you I have split this update into sections. It’s rather long for a holiday post, so I wanted to help out those of you who read my blog regularly, by creating sections within the post.  This makes it possible for you to skim through what you’ve already heard in the past and quickly get to the good stuff.  😉

LIST OF NOVEMBER GOALS

1. Eat oatmeal for breakfast every day.
2. Meditate for 5 minutes every day.
3. Exercise for 12 minutes every day.

WHAT IS SIGNIFICANT FOR SOME, MAY SEEM LIKE SMALL PEANUTS TO OTHERS  (Explanation of what I’m doing for newbie—old timers can move along. Nothing to see here!)

The goals you just read about may seem like insignificant goals to people who are goal setting champions. I am not. My purpose in beginning my Three Goals Thursday initiative was that I wanted to develop some habits for living that would unconsciously move me through life in positive, healthy, and beneficial ways. The only way I knew to do that was by setting goals for myself. My goals are purposefully teeny, tiny, so as to create in my mind winning scenarios that motivate me to continue on with what could be viewed by some as mundane, repetitious, and/or boring work.

Here’s the thing: I believe repetition is the only form of permanence we can attain in this life, so I keep doing those things over and over and over again, that bring me success and firmly plant unconscious cues in my brain. When I win (by achieving a goal I have set for myself, no matter the size), I win BIG, and winning makes me “feel” happy.

Happy feelings are good feelings and they are great motivators!

Here’s how I’m doing with my goals three weeks into the month of November. Aces!!!

WHAT ACES MEANS

My breakfast routine is great! I’m sure that I have developed a habit for eating oatmeal every day, which makes me incredibly happy. My body loves this stuff!

With regards to my other morning routines, I am doing “good”. I had a lil oopsy over the weekend with my meditation and exercise because the kiddos were in town, and when they are I try to help out with the wee ones during the early mornings, which upsets my regular routine. Not that I don’t love it, mind you, but staying up late talking with the kiddos and then getting’ up early to play with the wee ones is a challenge for me. Still, I want to do it.

I remember what it was to be a parent with small children—exhausting!!!

I did not get my 5 minutes of meditation in either Saturday or Sunday last week. I did get my exercise in, but it wasn’t all done at once and one day it wasn’t done at all. Not in a formal sense, that is. I move a lot more when the kiddos are in town, by design and need though, so I have decided not to be too hard on myself for not being “formal” with my exercise last weekend.

In other news: We hosted an early Thanksgiving dinner on Friday night, and my eating for that meal was spot on and controlled. Woohoo!

DECADENT AND DELICIOUS THANKSGIVING DESSERT

After our early Thanksgiving dinner I had a small piece of pie I made for the first time last weekend. I didn’t have any apples, so I decided to try something new: a Brownie Walnut pie. Man, oh man, was it good. I had a thin sliver of it, and was glad I did not cut myself a bigger piece. The creamy richness of the custardy chocolate (read: Ghirardelli) filling was decadent and full of calories, but hey, ya gotta live in this world and I did with one teeny, tiny piece of pie. I would bake that pie again, but probably not until there is a special occasion going on that makes it possible to share it with others. There are still three slices of it in the frig as of this writing, but I won’t be eating any more. If it doesn’t get eaten, we’ll throw it to the skunks. I bet they would love Brownie Walnut Pie!

PRACTICING SELF-CONTROL AS I WORK, WORK, WORK AT ACHIEVING MY GOALS

Before I sign off on my Three Goals Thursday update this week, I want to talk about how my goals are helping me learn self-control. Today (I penned this Wednesday), I was out of the office for a while shopping for our upcoming Christmas party. It took longer than expected. I was ravenous and tempted to stop by a local fast food joint and have a salad with chicken instead of waiting for my return to the office, where I had a lunch packed and ready to pop in the oven. Honestly, I pulled into the place and almost parked the car when I remembered my pledge to myself to eat better. Salad is good, but I had food in the frig that I had planned to eat, and for some weird reason I didn’t want to break that unwritten contract with myself to eat that healthier fare. I have some BGL challenges that I deal with on a regular basis, and I could feel them taking hold as I made my decision to return to the office. It was uncomfortable to push through that time without stopping and grabbing something, but stopping did not feel like the right thing to do, so I pressed on. I got back to the office, I prepared my food, I ate it, and I felt satisfied.

I WIN, again!!!

What teeny, tiny victories have you celebrated this year? What was the best part of your Thanksgiving?

8 thoughts on “Three Goals Are Teaching Me Self-Control

  1. Lori, I hope you had a great Thanksgiving and enjoyed time with your family and friends! 🙂

    We don’t celebrate it here but have something similar – Harvest Festival – though if I good remember it was mostly celebrated within a church environment, in kindergartens and elementary schools. Then, parents have to actually pack something healthy for their kids as snacks, preferable something from their own garden.

    I just received a tax refund and it was way more money than I expected, so I definitely put that aside for the camera I’m saving up to. This already feels like a huge victory to be so much closer to that camera than I was 3 days ago.

    Would you mind sharing the cake recipe? It sounds really delicious and I’d love to give it a try, maybe for Christmas.

    Have a brilliant weekend! 🙂

    • I’m excited for you to be able to get that camera, Hanni. Keep up the good work of saving for it. I will try to remember to log the recipe for the Brownie Walnut pie next week. It was super fudgy, and who doesn’t like that in a brownie pie?

      • 😀 yeah, me too! I’m so excited I’m already comparing different models.
        I love brownies and brownies as a pie? I’ll probably love that even more! Thanks for putting it up!

Comments are closed.