An Infestation Or What?

I want to talk about my pets this morning.  I’m hoping in so doing, I can get some ideas for how to help our mini schnauzer, Mauser.

DSC_0434

Poor Mauser has a problem with fleas, or not.

The truth is that we are unable at this time to determine if my dog has a flea problem or not.  He’s been to the vets three times, and had different prescriptions given to him three times, but nothing has helped with the constant itching and scratching and discomfort for this poor lil pup.

We have a cat in our house, too.  Jingle Bells is a huntress, so she spends all night outside hunting, and all day inside, sleeping.

DSC_0536.JPGThe dog and cat love each other, and play well together when she is inside, but is she is the source of any flea problem that might be plaguing the dog? She has had her own treatments for fleas, and does not scratch incessantly like the dog, so I don’t think that’s it, but…

I don’t know why the dog is not getting better.

What we can’t figure out is what is wrong with the dog.  We see him scratch. We bath him.  He has had two doses of flea repellent, and still he itches.  We think he has a skin infection, but the vet isn’t treating him for that.  In fact, she treated him once without even seeing him.  Yikes.

So, people, help me out here. 

Do we fire our current vet and seek out another?

Do we put the cat outside permanently?

Do we bath the dog again?

What course of action should we take with these crazy pets?

Do you have a pet that sometimes drives you crazy?  Are you a dog person, or a cat person? Explain.

 

8 thoughts on “An Infestation Or What?

  1. I would strongly encourage a second vet opinion. Is this scratching seasonal? Does it only occur when the cat and dog are together? Where does the dog sleep? Are there cleaning products in the house used to clean his bedding or carpet, etc…? I would also see if you could journal his episodes to gather more information. Good luck.

    • He kinda sleeps all over, not one particular place. He itches all the time, and licks himself constantly. I am sure this is driving him crazy, even as it is bothering us. I don’t think it is the cat causing this, but I wonder if he has a secondary infection from previous flea bites that are now old news? I think we will investigate a new vet. I feel so bad for poor, itchy, Mauser. 😦 Thanks for chiming in on this problem we are having with our beloved pet. He’s miserable right now.

  2. I’m so sorry to hear your dog suffers 😦
    I would definitely check in with another vet and maybe have a closer look at his skin itself as good as possible. Maybe it’s not a flea issue at all. Does his skin has specifically dry areas? Or wound bits? I know it can be tricky to see, but check if he’s licking or scratching a specific area more than others, maybe you can see a difference there. You could also try some natural remedies, to sooth the itching for now and then go from there. I found something similar to what used for our dog when she had a nasty skin irritation after getting stuck in some bushes with spikes – we had to pull her out on her legs, since we couldn’t fully get in and she wasn’t able to get out by herself – and then jumped into a dirty channel right after.

    “Apple Cider Vinegar

    This isn’t the first time I’ve sung the praises of the uber-versatile ACV, and I suspect it won’t be the last. Apple cider vinegar is an effective antiseptic, anti-fungal and anti-bacterial agent that relieves itching, especially itching associated with dry skin (for example: sunburns and dandruff). It’s also popularly used for pets with dry, itchy skin as well, by adding a few cupfuls to their bath water.

    How to use it: Just put a few drops of it onto a cotton ball or washcloth and dab it on to the affected area. Use raw, organic, unfiltered apple cider vinegar (Bragg’s is a good brand) with the “mother,” a strand-like sediment floating at the bottom of the bottle that contains raw enzymes and beneficial bacteria.”
    – from http://gerson.org/gerpress/8-natural-remedies-for-itchy-and-irritated-skin/

    Good luck and I hope Mauser will be better soon!

  3. Sounds like a flea allergy. It’s usually treated with corticosteroids I think. Be warned, the treatment can be worse than the disease for a short while.

Comments are closed.