Determined

ThreeGoals-AlternativeHellllo Thursday!  I’m glad to see ya, and even more glad to know ya.

Thought I’d stop by to report on my progress this week with the three teeny, tiny goals I have set for myself for November.

As you will remember, my goals for November were these:

1. Exercise for 12 minutes every day, before doing anything else.

2. Eat oatmeal every day for breakfast.

3. Meditate for 5 minutes every day, preferably in the morning.

I worried when I made those goals static for November.

I worried that without new goals to shoot for every Thursday I would get off track.

I worried that there would be too much wiggle room for a weasel like me in this plan.

I worried I’d fall off the 3 teeny, tiny goal wagon.

I’m happy to report that the things I worried about this week did not materialize.

Although I was tempted to skip my exercise a time or two this week, I did it anyway.

Although I was tempted to skip my oatmeal a time or two this week, I ate it anyway.

Although I had some frustrating times with my five minute meditations this week, I did them anyway.

Why did I do them anyway?

Because temptation will always be a part of the human experience, but success come from developing personal habits that will unconsciously move me through life to my goals. I want to wake up one day to a morning where I say to myself, “Wow, I can’t wait to exercise today!”

That will be a stellar day!

Here’s the thing:  I like my oatmeal, and when it goes smoothly, I like my time of prayer and meditation time, but I do not yet like to exercise first thing in the morning. Being honest here.

I do not YET like to get up early and exercise.

Some days I think my body likes it. Some days I know it definitely does not, but I keep doing it. My foot is back to tingling and feeling numb now that I have upped my time limit for exercising. I’m in a good deal of pain in my lower back some days, but I’m exercising. This morning, the numb feeling spread across the top of my left foot, to the inner side of my foot. Usually it stays on the outer side, but not today. I exercised anyway.

Oh, and while at the dentist’s office this week, the side of my foot itched. While he was working on me… Don’t you hate that? When I finally got a chance to scratch it, it didn’t help. I’m chalking that up to sciatica pain, too. Stupid foot!

The good news:

I am determined.
I will not quit.
I am building valuable habits with this repetitious routine.

Plus, there is a certain someone I want to prove something to—well, maybe two certain someone’s, the first half of that pair being me.

I will prove to me that I can do this! I will keep on, keeping on.

This week’s three teeny, tiny goals?

1. Exercise for 12 minutes every day, before doing anything else.
2. Eat oatmeal every day for breakfast.
3. Meditate for 5 minutes every day, preferably in the morning.

What are you shooting for in the way of habit this week? When have you told yourself, “Surrender is not a word I include in my vocabulary?”

10 thoughts on “Determined

  1. Hm, did you have your leg checked? Guess it’s not too good if it kinda falls asleep while exercising, maybe you hit a nerv and squeezed it?

    But it’s really cool you stick to your goals so much! I actually started to do some very basic yoga because of you every morning. If you can exercise every day, I can do some yoga stuff every day and I pretty much love it when the morning stiffness leaves my joints and I feel awake and warmed up.

    • I feel the same way when I get outta bed and do those exercises in the morning, Hanni. All of a sudden, I’m not so stiff and sore. It’s work, those 12 minutes, and temptation comes to not do the workout, but I do it anyway, because I know it is for my health and I do feel better afterward.

      I’ve also gone back to riding my bike in the afternoon. I just deal with the leg, and try not to do exercises that aggravate it too much. I have had it checked out. Something I guess I have to learn to live with, but won’t let it keep me from my goals.

      I think its so neat that you’ve joined me in the mornings. I will think of you when I want to quit. 🙂

      • I have not. I live out in the boondocks of NEPA, where high speed internet is almost non-existent. Since I work at a computer all day long, I have opted to stay off the grid at the house. I miss out on some opportunities that way, but on the other hand I have learned to live a happy life untethered from the electronic world through this means. I tend to be a bit of the compulsive, so this forced discipline with devices has been a good, if challenging, thing for me. 🙂

      • Ah, I see and from what I’ve seen so far on your blog, it’s lovely at yours. So why spoil your time unnecessarily with IT. I should do some more gadget discipline myself, lately my usage increased quite a bit :/

Comments are closed.