Three Goals Thursday-November Goals

ThreeGoals-AlternativeBy now, you all know that Thursday mornings are my times to talk about my quest to develop habit through the practice of three teeny, tiny goals each week.  This morning, I have a variation on that standard practice that I want to talk about, but first this…

I recently read a quote that I have been unable to get out of my head.

I used to be Snow White, but I drifted.  –Mae West

Why this sentence had been spinning around in my head for two weeks, I couldn’t say, but this morning I saw a connection.  I’ve been thinking all week about my goals, and how they have remained essentially the same from week to week for a while now, and that because they have been habitual in nature, they have begun to develop habits that are unconsciously and successfully steering me where I want to go. This is a big difference from how I used to live.

I used to sit and wait for inspiration to come to me.

Now, I wait no more. 

Instead, I run to meet inspiration half way!

This morning, I was able to relate Mae’s double entendre, saucy as it is, with my less titillating attempts to get healthy prior to my Three Goals Thursday campaign.

Once I was an unhealthy Snow White.  I was young, innocent, impressionable, and ignorant of the ways of the world with regards to health.  I had virtually no education about nutrition, exercise, self-control and/or diet when I was a budding woman and young bride.  This lack of knowledge left me susceptible to any food or eating pattern I happened upon.  I had no idea that there was a way to approach life that could bring about better outcomes in the future.

I didn’t know!

I had no idea that I could use exercise and diet to train my body to do what I wanted it to do, and not what all that junk food and creamy, saucy, and sugary glazes would teach it to do.

While Mae’s drifting points to a more sensual choice of lucrative careers on the stage, my drift has taken me in a decidedly different direction.  A more positive direction.  That’s not to say that Mae’s drifting didn’t produce positive results for her.  I think she did very well for herself, but let’s face it, I’m not Mae West and I really don’t want to be.

What I am is a sassy, sexy granna seeking to drift away from the dark side of food addiction in order to find health and wellness, and finally, peace, with food.

I used to be a food-dumb Snow White, but then I drifted!

All this to say I’m happy to be on the path I am on today, and I’m happy to be drifting into better circles, with wiser friends, and more helpful habits than I have ever had in my life.  I’m drifting in all the right ways!

It is with this concept of drifting to better outcomes that I update you about my goals this week.

I did a stellar job meeting all my objectives this week!  Woohoo!!!

I meditated five minutes each day. I exercised eleven minutes each morning, and I ate my oatmeal 6 out of 7 days this week. I am thrilled to report that I can feel habits forming in my life and changes taking place in my body.

What changes have I seen?

More regular bathroom habits. Yay!

Less stiffness during the day.  Yay!

Much more muscle tone in my legs and arms. Yay!

A greater sense of what I need to do spiritually, to clean up some of the debris of the past and move forward with relationships that support my goals and benefit my family.

More serenity.  Not a small thing, I assure you.

My Three Teeny, Tiny Goals for this week:

What I have decided to do for the remainder of November is keep my goals static.  The holidays are coming up soon, and I want to have my habits for eating and exercise firmly in place and serving me before the sugary stuff starts sneaking into the break room at work.  I want to have my head about me as I shop for gifts for family members, and I want to have the stamina I need to get through the holiday blur.  To this end, I will not be changing up my goals again until the first of December, but I will be reporting on those goals each Thursday, so that I don’t lose momentum and I am able to keep that accountability factor that means so much to my success in place.

My Three Teeny Tiny Goals for November then, are:

  1. I will eat oatmeal for breakfast every morning in November.
  2. I will exercise for 12 minutes each morning before doing anything else.
  3. I will meditate for 5 minutes each morning, seeking to have a better understanding of my needs and God’s power to fuel each day.

If you are the praying type, pray for me as I move through this month of busyness, please.  If you’re the praying type, let me know and I’ll pray for you! 🙂

What goals do you have for yourself going into the holiday season?  What habits would you like to change before the end of the year, so that you can get a running start on 2016?

2 thoughts on “Three Goals Thursday-November Goals

  1. You are the “Picture Child” of Lifestyle modification proving that quality health does NOT result in deprivation, but rather a new-founded sense of happiness and accomplishment. I’ll bet you will get through the holiday season magnanimously. This will take you to a whole new level of success as well. I look forward to seeing that smile on your face as I read your stories of success.

Comments are closed.