Staying Loyal

000changeispossible-loyalty to goalsToday I did nine minutes of exercise before I did anything else.

I ate oatmeal with walnuts and apple pieces in it for breakfast.

I drove to work and sat at my desk, and did what I’m being paid to do.

I thought about why its hard for me to count calories, or cut back on what I’m eating, and how I can do better in the future.

I prayed for people I knew were struggling.

I did all these things because goals matter to me.

Developing sustainable habits for living healthy far into the future matters to me.

Commitment matters to  me.

I am a goal-chaser!

What has been eating at you, asking you to begin…begging you to put it on a teeny, tiny goal list?  If not now, when?

4 thoughts on “Staying Loyal

  1. Goals are great because they help identify a “WANT” for change. Finding a meaningful “PURPOSE” for the goal becomes the next step. For example, “I’m going to lose weight” is certainly a goal, but stated this way lacks purpose. It is really only about a “want.” “I’m going to lose weight, so I can get off my medications and take that money to go on a Caribbean Vacation provides an example of purpose. Finding “PASSION” in the process (example: for life, for people, for a mission to help others achieve similar goals) reduces the chances of self sabotage. The goal is no longer just about you; it takes on a responsibility for others.

    • Good point. I actually do have a passion and purpose lurking behind my efforts. I want to be a role model of health for others. “How can I be that, unless I can do this” comes to mind. I’m also on a quest to make amends to my family for all the eating years, if that makes sense to anyone. …the years the locusts have eaten.

  2. Yeah, counting calories and even portion control is hard. Really, to be good at it all some successful people even use measures and a small scale to weigh portions. The key is to put in the work so you can learn the volumes and calories of the foods you eat, and then you only have to do it once in a while that way.

Comments are closed.