ThreeGoals-AlternativeHappy Thursday! 

It’s time to pony up to the blog and report on my three teeny, tiny goals this week.

What I proposed to do this week was eat oatmeal for breakfast every morning, do nine minutes of exercise first thing each morning and spend ten minutes researching and/or creating an action plan for eating that would help me reduce my caloric intake to 1500 calories per day before the end of 2015.

How I did…

Goal No. 1 Pretty well.  I ate oatmeal for breakfast 6 out of the 7 days I set out to do so this week, with one day eating off plan.  I can’t even remember what was happening that morning, but I am giving myself an atta-boy for staying true to my goals even while vacationing with my ladies.  While there was lots of yummy stuff to eat for breakfast while we were away, I made sure to put oatmeal down my pie hole, because I said I would.

Yay–feeling good about Goal No. 1.

Goal No. 2 Pretty well.  I did my 9 minutes every morning, save one.  That morning I did exercise, but not for the full 9 minutes.  I hurt that morning and I had the wee ones at our house.  I had to reserve my strength for later in the day, when we visited Mt. Pisgah State Park and enjoyed the festivities there. At lunch time that day we laughed so hard that J could barely catch his breath.  He loves to enjoy life.  What a blessing to have him near for a few days.  He and A make me smile when thinking of them, let alone spending time with them.

I also walked several days while on vacation, and moved a lot more than usual.

Goal No. 3 was a near FAIL.  I only researched recipes for two days out of this week, instead of the every day schedule I was shooting for.  I was on vacation part of the week, though, so that definitely affected my goal.  I could not get my notebook to work while on the road, so while I had to lug it with me everywhere I went, I could not get it to connect when I wanted it to.  I am replacing that albatross soon!

I will say I am finding myself a tad bit resistant to doing what is necessary to make Goal No. 3 a sustaining habit.  Why?

I’m frustrated with myself that I can’t easily achieve this goal, but I’m not giving up, and I’m not beating myself up over my results this week. No way!  I will double down and tweak this goal to make it even teeny, tinier.  Maybe that will work. We’ll see.

My Three Teeny, Tiny goals for this week will be as follows:

1. I will again exercise for 9 minutes each morning before doing anything else.

2. I will eat oatmeal for breakfast this week.

3. I will figure out why I am resistant when it comes to having a better plan in place for dinner time.

This week I am on the hunt for identifiable distractions, hindrances, and road blocks to attaining this goal.  I will review with someone what I discover and ask them to give me their opinion on how I can better adapt myself to this goal of eating 1500 calories per day before the end of the year.

Some observations I am making as I go along the way:

I can feel my leg muscles toning as I am doing my morning exercises.  It’s such a good feeling to realize that this teeny, tiny amount of time spent stretching and moving each day is making a difference in my body.  Even small changes add up over time!

As I work to achieve my goals each week, I can feel habits being formed.  I’m experiencing more compelling reasons to press forward with my goals, and I’m feeling less antsy about when I will finally be able to say I have developed a life long habit with any particular behavior.

I’m feeling more empowered in my personal life, and therefore, more willing to put in the time and effort it takes to see habits develop.

I can see change occurring, and that inspires me to keep at it and do even more to get healthy and stay healthy, one day at a time.

I am beginning to once again call SATISFACTION my close friend and neighbor!

What teeny, tiny thing have you done recently that made all the difference in your life or the life of another?  How have you celebrated victories over complacency in the past?

7 thoughts on “

  1. Sometimes a goal that meets great resistance simply needs modification. Instead of making Goal #3 a daily goal, make it an episodic goal for the week. Decide on a recipe 1-2 times. Once you begin creating the recipe it may “feel good” and help motivate you to do it more often. Like exercise, if this is the case, I recommend INCREMENTALLY increasing goal number 3.
    You’re on a great path. Just all everyone in life, sometimes we just need tweaking.

Comments are closed.