ThreeGoals-AlternativeThis week has been a busy one, what with flitting here and flitting there throughout the Adirondacks, and vacationing with my mom and sister.  I was reminded many times during the past five days that I had some goals set for myself, and I needed to keep up with them while I was away.  So, what were those goals?

Just this:

1. I will do an 8N7 challenge this week. Kicking my early morning exercise session up to 8 minutes, seven days a week.

2. I will eat oatmeal for breakfast this week

3. I will do 10 minutes of meal planning each day, specifically focusing on reducing daily intake of calories and trying to get to 1500 calories per day by the end of the year.

How’d I do?

I completely Goal No. 1 & 2 every day, save one, last week.  I exercised for 8 minutes every morning, but one morning I did not have oatmeal for breakfast.  Still, those are pretty good results for a gal on vacation, I think.

The goals I am setting are beginning to feel like a habit that is unconsciously moving me through life.  Yay!  That is exactly what I am trying to do with my Three Goals Thursday goal setting, so I am pretty happy about the results I’m seeing as I am experimenting with this system.

Goal No. 3 was a problem this week!  Honestly, I tried numerous times to remember what Goal No. 3 was while I was vacationing with the girls.  I could NOT do it!  Ugh.

Could NOT! 

I tried to remember that third goal. Tried, and tried again, but no go.  That goal had flown the coup and did not return again until I logged in to check on my goal list today.

Goal No. 3 this week was a FAIL! 

I am disappointed with that, obviously, but I will try again next week to incorporate calorie reduction processes into my weekly goals.

My three teeny, tiny, doable, and habit-building goals for this week are:

1. I will do an 9N7 challenge this week. Kicking my early morning exercise session up to 9 minutes, seven days a week.

2. I will eat oatmeal for breakfast this week

3. I will do 10 minutes of meal planning each day, specifically focusing on reducing daily intake of calories and trying to get to 1500 calories per day by the end of the year.

I’m using the same goals again this week to help me get healthy and lose weight.  The only change is that I will do NINE minutes of exercise each morning this week (before I do anything else), instead of the eight minutes I did last week.

One thing I know:

Exercising will not off set over eating, so I have to get that calorie count down on a consistent basis in order to develop a habit for 1500 calorie a day eating by the end of 2015.  I will do better on Goal No. 3 this week.

Side Note:

While we were traveling through the Adirondacks this week, my gals and I stopped several times to take pics. They were not as “into” the photo shooting as I was, but I forced them to take a few pictures of me for my blog.  Funny story: when standing next to Round Pond, south of Lake Placid, I asked my sister to take a picture of me and mom.  While she was setting up for the shot I laughingly said to her: Does this rock make me look fat?  We all laughed, but I was half serious.  Okay, maybe more than half…

Here is that picture of me and my mom:

DSC_0116It looks okay, right???! 😉

Do you ever forget the goals you set for yourself?  If one thing is going to knock you off kilter with regards to your plan for getting healthy, what will that one thing be?

4 thoughts on “

  1. You have truly developed the skills needed for positive changes. Remember, perfection isn’t the goal, Improvement, growth and development are the goals with the end result being good quality living and health. You are definitely on your way.
    Nice to see the picture of you with your mom. Brings back some memories for me. Thanks!

    • Thanks for the kind words. My mom is struggling with shoulder pain right now, so this trip was not easy for her, but she was a trooper. She kept going, albeit slowly, and we got a few pictures along the way.

      I bet you had some great times with your mom. I’m sorry she is gone.

  2. Lovely picture of you and your mom!
    And don’t be too hard on yourself with goal 3, you’ve been on vacation and you still stuck to 2 out of 3, so more than 66% and that alone is already awesome 😁

Comments are closed.