In the Adirondacks

Popping in quickly to post while in Lake George, NY. 

My mom, sister and me headed out of NEPA for the Adirondacks on Sunday afternoon.  We are thankful that Hurricane Joaquin decided to move out into the Atlantic, so that we did not have to face three solid days of rain and wind on our mini-vacation.  It was beautiful when we pulled out of the driveway on Sunday and it has been beautiful every day since.  We head home tomorrow.

Our first full day here we visited Saratoga National Park. My mom loved that, since we spent a good deal of the day learning about the officers, strategies, and successes experienced by the American forces as they waged war against the Brits.  We watched a movie, listened to a speaker, took a driving tour around the park, and took some pictures of ourselves in front of the battlefield where so many red coats met their final moments. It was sobering stuff.

While at the Saratoga National Park I heard about a British officer that eventually became Commander-in-Chief of the British forces during the revolutionary was; Sir William Howe.  My ears perked up when I heard the name.  My MIL’s maiden name was Howe.  I wonder if my husband is related to the General?

We stopped by Saratoga Raceway while we were in town, but the race track is closed for the season. Too bad.  I would have loved to wander in the vicinity.

Today, we went to Schroon Lake and then on up into the Lake Placid area of the Adirondacks.  Gorgeous does not begin to describe the majesty of the hills in this area of NYS.  Not by a long shot.  I got lots of pictures, but my laptop quit on me, so I cannot share them here.  I will share some later in the week.

We visited the Olympic Park site today.  Did you know it was 1932 the Olympics were first held in Lake Placid, and it was 1980 they were most recently hosted there.  1980!!!  1980???  Really?  I’m no math whiz, but that’s 35 yrs ago, right?  How can that in any way be right?  Seems like yesterday…

We made our way back to Lake George by way of Bolton’s Landing and the river road.  Again, beautiful. Bolton’s Landing is a park erected to honor veteran’s in Lake George.  It has a sandy beach, a play ground, and many picnic tables, plus some greens.  Very nice, and very quiet today.  I was glad we had a chance to stop and soak up the silence in this serene locale.

Traveling with my mom and sister has been a treat.  I love them both and I’m not sure how many more opportunities like this we will get.

Food has been a challenge on this trip, but I have stuck to my goal of eating oatmeal for breakfast every day, and I have done my eight minutes of exercise every morning.  I even got my sister to exercise with me two of the three days we have been away. Woohoo!  She saw some results from the exercises today, as her body treated her to some positive change due to moving more.  I love that!!!

Change is possible.  You just have to want it, to see it CHANGE You!!!

What positive changes have you seen as you’ve worked to get healthier this week?   When did you last enjoy some time away with people you love?

7 thoughts on “In the Adirondacks

  1. Sounds like quite an adventure. I’m sure it was wonderful spending time with people you love in a beautiful environment. Glad to see you passing the health message on to the family. As long as one’s heart beats and lungs expand health benefits can be recognized. Desire and persistence is all it takes.
    Safe travels back. Stay healthy and happy!

  2. I have a little list:
    1. I hope your mom and sis will become better again!
    2. I’m really happy for you, you had a great time. I know these moments are rare the older we get, therefore it’s important to cherish every moment we get with our loved once.
    3. I’m curious if you can find out the name relation to your MiL. Would be fun to go back that fare into the past with with a family tree.
    4. Can’t wait for the pictures 🙂 Just say something nice to your computer, they usually work again then.
    5. I just got back home to my boyfriend after 3 long weeks. Enjoying every second right now 🙂
    Have a great day, Lori!

  3. Nice story! Glad you are spending time with family. As a kid my dad took me to Fort Ticonderoga! That was very cool and not that far from Lake Placid.

    • I have been to Fort Ticonderoga. Learned a lot there. This time around we went to Saratoga National Park and heard more about the revolutionary war. My mom is a RW buff, so she loved that part of the trip. The one thing that really struck me while there was the sight of a “bullet” that was used both in a gun and cannon. It looked like something out of medieval days–all spikey and twisted. I can’t imagine what it felt like to be hit with that while it is twirling at insane speeds. The pain! The torture! The cost of man’s inhumanity to man. 😦

Comments are closed.