ThreeGoals-AlternativeIt’s Thursday again, and time to update the blog regarding progress made on my teeny, tiny habit-building efforts this week.

Here’s goes. My goals this week were to complete a 7N7 challenge; seven minutes of exercise in the morning, for seven days; to eat raw veggies with a lil bit of protein every day for both breakfast and lunch; to reduce my daily caloric intake by 100 calories each day, working my way down slowly, hoping to be at 1500 calories per day by Christmas.

How’d I do?

No. 1 GREAT!!!  I am seeing a habit beginning to form around my morning exercise. I’m so excited to see this happening.  I know I need to kick it up a notch if I have any hope of developing a healthy “lifestyle” for the future.  This habit of morning exercise is key to seeing that happen.

No. 2 Good.  I thot this goal might be beyond me this week, and I did struggle to make it happen. I did not have a perfect score where the veggies for breakfast habit is concerned.  I met my goal only 4 days out of the week, and wished I had not set the goal to begin with, since I have been trying so hard to build a habit of eating oatmeal in the mornings.  Why did I abandon that habit to start anew? Who knows!  I will be going back to oatmeal for breakfast this week, but I will say that I did eat veggies for lunch almost every day this week and it helped my body to work better.  Yay!

No. 3 Poor.  Honestly, I did not do well with this goal at all. Bummer. I did not meal plan, I did not calorie count, I did not write down what I ate, and I did eat carbs that I should not have eaten.  However, I also did pay attention to portion size when eating supper, and I did eat raw foods for lunch almost every day this week.

My impressions going into a new week of goals:

I’m feeling really good about the exercise I’m getting each week as I’m challenging myself to these teeny, tiny, totally winnable goals and habit building scenarios.  I’m feeling good about portion sizing. I’m feeling good about veggie eating. I’m feeling good about goal setting.

It occurs to me that if someone wants to change a lifestyle, it might not be all that easy to do it. Lifestyles are developed through basic processing skills.  Where the brain goes, the body follows.  In thinking about what it takes to change the basic way I think–simple, maybe, but not easy–I am realizing that changing how I think might be difficult, indeed.  Is it even doable?  Changing how I process ideas, attitudes, challenges; how hard is that?  Add to all this difficulty the fact that everything in life around us is constantly changing, slipping away like sand on the beach, and I begin to see that real change, true change, dynamic change doesn’t happen overnight.  It takes time, and practice, and determination; and faith, and practice, and goals and God.

I will get this, it just might take some time!

My three teeny, tiny, doable, and habit-building goals for this week are:

1. I will do an 8N7 challenge this week. Kicking my early morning exercise session up to 8 minutes, seven days a week.

2. I will eat oatmeal for breakfast this week

3. I will do 10 minutes of meal planning each day, specifically focusing on reducing daily intake of calories and trying to get to 1500 calories per day by the end of the year.

I think these goals are doable, but that last one might only result in planning and not doing, at least Sunday through Wednesday of this week. I’m headed out to Lake George, Lake Placid, Saranac Lake, and parts north this weekend with mom and sis.  We all have plans in place for eating light while we are away, so that will help, but I am not going to obsess about food while I am away. Food or Weight, either one.  I will be focusing on connecting with family, taking some great pics, laughing a lot, and living life large, as best I can.

I’m praying we do not get drenched the whole time we are gone, or run into flash flooding situations.  I’m also trusting God for a great vacation with my ladies.  Trusting Me to stay the course and eat clean this week.

If you have some thoughts about lifestyle changing, please chime in with a comment.  I’m eager to hear your thoughts, especially if you have read a book that aided you in your own efforts to change things up in your life.

What goals do you have for yourself this week? Why is goal setting something you like, or don’t like, to do?

2 thoughts on “

    • I hear you! Me, too. I gotta say, though, this method for goal setting is really, really, WONDERFULLY working for me. Even when I don’t reach my goals, I learn something valuable about myself in the process. That information helps me to set better, more well-defined, more achievable, and teenier goals next time. It’s all about living a focused life and creating winning scenarios. Its about habit forming, too. I’m a believer in habit, a huge fan of the concept, and want them to start working unconsciously for me. This plan works for me, and if it works for me, it can work for anyone. Seriously!!! I am a stubborn recovering perfectionist who wants to learn how to be a bit of a risk taker. Lil by lil, I’m gettin’ there! Yay!

Comments are closed.