Owning My Lifestyle

000lifestyle

Random House Dictionary defines “lifestyle” as the habits, attitudes, tastes, moral standards, economic level, etc., that together constitute the mode of living of an individual or group.

If you’ve been following my blog for a while, you know that one of my readers recently suggested that what I’d been calling a weight loss plateau might not be a plateau at all, but rather, a lifestyle. That got me thinking…

What choices have I made in the last two years that might indicate I’m living a lifestyle, instead of dealing with a temporary plateau in my weight loss journey?

To the extent that I am able to properly assess myself, here is what I think:

Faith matters when you make a choice to lose more than half your body weight.  The process does not happen overnight, which means I have had to adapt a long-haul mentality in order to get the weight off. I’ve had to make plans and consistently stick to them in order to meet my goals.  My moral compass pivots on the decision I made to invite God into the process, but faith is not all I need to get ‘er done.  I also need strategic planning, confidence in the goal, and a willingness to listen to the community around me that has already done what I am trying to do.  Faith is necessary at each phase of the process.  God is a habit I never want to break.

With regards to taste and attitude I will say two things: I like tasty foods–maybe more than I should–and I can have an “attitude” from time to time. Looking deeper into my current lifestyle and attitudes, though, I would guess that most folks who know me well would label me eclectic and say I appreciate diversity. Debate intrigues me, but I don’t like to fight about things. I’m not big on vulgarities. If foul language is needed to make a point, then make it quickly or you’ll lose my attention.  I like civility, well-scripted plots, conversation, and listening to others explain their passions, especially when they’re “onto something”.  Seeing the spark in others eyes when they realize a new truth for the first time fills me with joy.

Best move quickly on from here, this is beginning to sound like a profile for a dating site.

No, I am not registered on Ashley Madison.  😉

As for the work I do to fight off the effects of T2D through diet and exercise, I think that after considering whether my current efforts amount to progress, a plateau, or a settled lifestyle, I have to admit I’ve built a lifestyle that is keeping me from my goal weight.  This news isn’t particularly encouraging, but thinking about this for a while now I have to say that I am seeing more clearly why I’m struggling at my present weight.

It is so hard to see one’s self clearly, don’t you think?

Below, I have listed the choices I’ve made over the past two years that have contributed to my foggy thinking about my present lifestyle and explains my frustrations with not being able to lose more weight:

I have chosen to become obsessed with my weight.

I have chosen to eat more than 1500 calories a day.

I have chosen to continue eating sugar, even though I know I’m addicted to the heinous substance.

I have chosen to put off starting exercise routines that intimidate me or make me fearful that my pain levels will shoot up after working out.

I have chosen to discontinue a gym membership.

I have chosen to rest at my present weight, even though I could be exploring new ways of getting healthy.

I have chosen to accept where I find myself now.

I have chosen to be harder on myself that I needed to be, sometimes.

What have I discovered about myself while creating this list?

I have fashioned a lifestyle for myself, and am not experiencing a weight loss plateau.  Ugh!

My choices clearly need to change.

I don’t want to change everything about my life, but some things…some things, I do. So, what is the solution?

Riddle:  How do you eat an elephant?

Answer:  One bite at a time.

Over the next few weeks I will be tackling my list of faulty choices and working to change them, one choice at a time.

Don’t be surprised if you see some lifestyle changes show up in my Three Goal Thursday list in the next month.  I need to change how I am approaching life if I want to see real change take place in my life!

How have you so patterned your life that it’s made achieving different outcomes possible?  Is change all about will power, or is there something more to it?

3 thoughts on “Owning My Lifestyle

Comments are closed.