ThreeGoals-Alternative

Long day, busy day. THURSday, and time to report!

Honestly, I feel like I did just okay with my goals this week.  I ate my oatmeal five days this week, but one day it was eaten for lunch, instead of breakfast.  One other day I ate a bagel and yesterday I had that stop at Dunkin Donuts that I talked about here.  I had an apple for lunch yesterday after treating myself with a pumpkin spice munchkin, and then made homemade soups for supper.  Yum, was that good!

Temperatures have been a bit milder in our neck of the woods lately and it feels wonderful!

I put the sign I made (the one with the googly eyes),on my table this week, and that helped me be mindful of my portion sizes at dinner time, my roughest time of the day.  I also ordered off-menu once, when we joined family for a birthday celebration at a restaurant of his choosing, so that was good action outside my comfort zone.

Although I have not lost a lot of weight with the addition of three goals to my weekly schedule, I have noticed that my pants fit looser, which has been a nice surprise.  I attribute that to my morning ritual of exercise which I have been 100% faithful to in the past few weeks.

Yay, I am beginning to develop some good habits!

After exercising this week I noticed my muscles were sore.  That’s because I walked after work two nights, and one of those outings included a trek of two blocks up what is an impossibly steep hill in the town where I have my office.  I swear, this cities planners were part goat, looking at how the town was designed.  I guess I should say that the course I took wasn’t “impossibly steep.”  After all, I did make it to the top.  But it was STEEP!! I thought my shins would be screaming after that workout, but if affected me in my thighs.  Go figure.  My knees also hurt-a lot-the next day.

God provided a look into the breadth of my recovery that was pretty amazing this week.  I was walking with some friends and family, one of them much younger than I, and found it was them who were getting out of breath and asking to stop and rest, not me.  I also went to the movies with some friends, again, younger than me, who decided to take the steps up three flights to the theater and expected me to follow them up.  I kept pace with them, no problem.

Booyah!

As I walked up those stairs I thought, “Five years ago, I never would have attempted this. It would have been too embarrassing. I would have had to sit down at the top, if I made it to the top.  Look at me go! And I’m not winded, either. Yay!”

I rejoiced heartily over this lil reflection of what was, but is no more. Thank you, Papa, for that insight!

My Three Goals for this week:

1. I will exercise for seven minutes each morning, before doing anything else.

2. I will eat a veggie wrap for breakfast five out of seven days this week, trying to keep my calorie count under 300 for that time of day.  I think I need to make this shift in order to get in enough veggies during the day. We’ll see how it goes, because this will take more prep time in the morning. I may be setting myself up for failure with this goal. I’m afraid it is not teeny, tiny enough.  :/

3. I will publicly acknowledge three people on social media or my blog this week, thanking them for the contribution they have made to my continuing recovery.

I really am truly grateful to all my readers and those of you who comment here.  Your contributions have added greatly to my health and continuing motivations to do better with each passing day. You guys keep me honest, and that’s no lil thing. Thank you!

What goal will you set for yourself this week?  How do you know when you’re being too hard on yourself, and not rejoicing in your successes often enough?

3 thoughts on “

  1. I’m very glad you are happy with your progress, Lori! I’ve had a tough week. Slow healing physical injuries that make my workouts harder than usual, and the pain makes staying centered more difficult. I’ll get through it, but I am my hardest critic.

    • If only you lived around the corner from me, Dr. J. I would bring you some of my famous homemade veggie soup and a loaf of crusty bread. Oh, so soothing when you’re feeling ouchy. Look at me, trying to heal with food. Ah well, chicken soup has been used as medicine for centuries, right? 😉

      But seriously, I will be thinking of you this week and saying a prayer. I know how it feels to push through the pain. Hope your injury is better soon! Take care of You!

Comments are closed.