Mission Accomplished!

Last night I baked my fourth rhubarb pie of the summer, and again, I missed the mark of memory for my brother.

I wanted to share a few pics with you today, so you could see what I have been up to as I have attempted to recreate Gramma Foulkrod’s home-made and singularly excellent Rhubarb Cream Pie.

Experiment No. 1 we do not have a picture of, but I can tell you it was different from all the rest.  That first rhubarb pie was made in the fashion of a true cream pie (because I didn’t yet know what I was doing…).  It’s shell was baked ahead of time, and the filling made on top of the stove. It was wayyyyyyyyyyy sweet; too much so for this sugar addict’s taste, so I won’t be repeating that recipe EVER again.

Note:  When a slice of pie is too sweet for a sugar addict, you know it’s too sweet!  It was creamy though, and creaminess is a must-have for any cream pie–hence the name.  😉

Experiment No. 2 looked like this:

DSC_0697DSC_0700Experiment No. 3 looked like this:

DSC_0732DSC_0744And Experiment No. 4, baked fresh last night, looked like this:

DSC_0895DSC_0900What I can tell you from experimenting with rhubarb pie recipes is this…

I still do not care for rhubarb pie.

Rhubarb pie comes in a variety of colors, flavors, and aromas.

I liked rhubarb pie No. 2 the best!

My brother is still undecided about which recipe he prefers, although I believe he is leaning toward rhubarb pie No. 2, but with bigger chucks of rhubarb and more of them inside the filling.

My review of each pie…

  1.  A true cream pie, but the filling was too sweet.
  2. Not enough fruit, but a decidedly pleasant citrus taste.
  3. Too much of a custard texture.  Not really a “cream” pie.
  4. Missed that citrus smell and taste we liked. Too much nutmeg. Not a fan.

Pie No. 4 tasted more like a pie you would serve at Thanksgiving or Christmas. It was not creamy enough, had too much of a custard texture, and was devoid of the citrus flavor that really added a nice tang to the rhubarb but still kept the pie sweet.  No. 4 also cooked too long, so an unpleasant brown exterior appeared on the top of the pie.  When it first came out of the oven, the top of pie No. 4 was caramelized and hard. I thought it would stay that way, but it didn’t.  As it cooled, the topping absorbed the pie’s creamy filling and softened considerably. Still, I did not like the look of it, nor the wee taste of filling that I sampled.

So, there you have it! My brother and I are in agreement that rhubarb pie no. 2, made with orange juice (not gramma’s pie recipe), is the winner of this summer’s rhubarb pie bake-off experiment.  We have depleted our rhubarb stores at this point (unless we buy some at the grocers, and at $4.99 lb, I doubt we will), so this experiment is declared over.

Next up?  Peach cream pie.  Stay tuned for pending reviews.

Do you eat pie?  What is your favorite pie flavor? 

3 thoughts on “Mission Accomplished!

  1. Sounds like you are having a lot of fun with these bake offs. Fun is just as important as any other component in healthy living. It puts a smile on my face when I read about other people enjoying life. Good luck on your peach pie. Don’t ask for my assistance. The last person who did had to turn down my Tofu, Chia and Kale Pie. Keep enjoying everything around you!!

Comments are closed.