Is 8 Minutes Too Much?

Today is Monday and the first day of my week, so I’m back at it. 

Back to the good eats.

Back at the exercise.

Back at the ouchies!

I’m not sure what’s going on at our house, but yikes, everyone around me in aching these days.

I stretched, pulled, and otherwise manipulated myself into hurtful territory on Friday when I dismissed pain upon exercising and decided to power through. “Maybe this will limber me up,” thought I.  “Maybe this is pain that leads to reduced inflammation in my hip joint,” I imagined.

“Maybe this will feel better after I’m done.” Fat chance!

To my credit, that last statement was not as weird a hypothesis/conclusion as one might think.  Doing five minutes of exercise in the morning has been really good for me, and I HAVE felt better, more limber, and more loose in my joints because of it.

The old thinking says if a little is good, than more will be better, right?  Not where pain is involved!000painI should have listened.

I should have stopped.

I should have gone on to the next move, and left that hip thing alone.

I should have, but I didn’t. I kept moving in that weird way until I hurt myself.

You’ve heard misery loves company, right? 

It’s been proved true at my house lately.  What I mean by that is that I’m not suffering alone these days.

Hubs was helping a friend with a “few” cinder blocks and wrenched his neck.

The cat that was dropped off at our house a year and a half ago is getting skinnier by the day and the vet doesn’t know why.

Our pupper is itching all over with no sign of fleas and while wearing a new flea collar.  We are trying him on a new dog food and hoping that brings some relief. In the  meantime, he is driving me crazy!!!

Even more important, my sister is back in the hospital this afternoon with her own mystery pain.  Yikes, we are keeping this one in prayer.

What is going on?

I was not able to exercise for 8 minutes over the weekend.  At some points during Saturday and Sunday I was not able to get outta the Barcalounger unaided. So stiff. So sore. So slow moving was I, that hubs had to lend a hand.  And him, with the wrenched neck.  We were a sight, but I am nothing if not determined…

I got up this morning, did my 8 minutes (albeit slowly and with deliberation), and then set off for work.  I also took my baked oatmeal to the office with me, after having paid particular attention to portion sizes.

I hear it works, if you work it.  I’m trying.

What’s working for you these days?  What never works, so you have abandoned it completely? 

5 thoughts on “Is 8 Minutes Too Much?

  1. I love walking and I had been slacking lately. I got back to my long walks this weekend and it has felt amazing!!!
    I also like trying to fit in short workouts with squats, lunges, and arm stuff. That’s the only way I can get it in.

    • Ya! Good for you for beginning again. Do what you love and you’ll never work at exercise a day in your life, right? I do some arm stuff, some squats, but no lunges. I would never be able to get upright again if I did those, I’m convinced. LOL

      I wish I loved to walk. I can see the sense in it these days and do it as much as I can, but I hesitate to do it more often because of where I live. We suffer from sidehill gouger syndrome in my neck of the woods. No kidding. The hills in my NEPA neighborhood are steep and full of bears, coyotes, and the occasional bobcat. Scary stuff, but really just an excuse…

  2. Exercise has been part of my history for the last 38 years. I have certainly injured myself over this duration, but each injury taught me something new to prevent repeated episodes. I like to use resistive exercise 4 days a week and cardio conditioning 5 days a week. It helps relax me and provides a healthy stress relieving activity. It is an important part of my life.

    • Were you taught to be active as a kid, or did you learn that lifestyle?

      It seems like from my earliest days I was a born observer. I wish I had been a born doer, instead of a watcher of doers. I’m working to change that.

      Did my 8 minutes this morning and felt fine. I have to learn that there are some moves I just cannot do with my back. Realizing more fully every day that my body has a voice and will speak, if I’ll listen.

      • I lived to play sports as a child. My father taught me the basics and I immediately fell in love with it. I did not like to sit still and I did not like to read. Amazing how things change. I still love to play sports but I love to read and research.
        Glad to hear you’re listening to your body. There will be good days and bad days. You will learn when to push a little and when not to through experience. Everyone that exercises eventually hurts themselves. It comes with the territory. The overall benefits of exercise far exceed the minimal injuries we all experience.

Comments are closed.