The Importance of Staying Positive

Every morning as we slip out of bed and slide our feet into our warm, fluffy slippers, we have a choice: Will we face the circumstances and people in our lives with grumbling and negativity, or will we face them with gratitude? –Whispers of Joy

Diseases desperate grown by desperate appliances are relieved, or not at all. –William Shakespeare

It is my contention that most difficult situations are made worse when we grumble.

Negativity solves nothing!

Oh, but it is soooo easy to be negative.  In order to counter that ease, I call upon desperate measures.  Measures that require conscious awareness and purpose of thought:  patience, serenity, solitude, concentration, and a bit of imagination.

Staying positive is a struggle when the journey is long and the way seems all up hill (or uphill both ways, we’ve all heard those stories, right?).  So what can I do to get the process underway?

How can I turn a negative mindset to a positive purpose? What are those desperate appliances that can be employed when tackling dis-ease?

000hikersA hiking analogy might help:

I can, think about how the hills on my journey are building those calf muscles of mine, and what gorgeous gams I’ll have at the end of my climb.

I can, glory in the green canopy all around me, the path under foot, the moss on the trees, the rocks; those incredible rocks–their shapes, their colors, their solid testimony through the centuries–they are immovable. I can declare that I will not be shaken!

I can, breath in the fresh air my trek up the mountainside provides, and I can finally break free of the mundane.  I am doing something, while others sit on the couch and veg out. That’s worth celebrating!

Today, I can quiet the nay-saying inside and allow myself the chance to be an instrument of peace to the people around me.

Life is hard enough without constant reminders that it is hard.

Besides, I serve a great Power–the God of possibilities and wonder, of strength and purpose; of love and life. Sitting on the summit, I realize, it’s all good!

I speak that goodness into the world and I recover a lil more.

I hear the Wisdom of the ages say, “Encourage one another!!!”

How have you turned the difficulties of your life into opportunities for change?  How have you harnessed your negativity and made it work for you, instead of against you?

7 thoughts on “The Importance of Staying Positive

  1. In my profession, I was confronted with negativity on a daily basis. People were angry about family issues, work issues, etc… and came to their office visits with these problems. I learned early in practice that spinal and joint health could not be corrected unless these other problems were addressed as well. The good news was the patients responded much better once I began treating them as a whole person. I was mentally and emotionally drained by the end of a day. I learned to create time during the day to recharge myself. I realized I would be no good to anyone else if I couldn’t manage my own well being.

    I have also learned to seek positive and good in all situations I’m involved with. It feels much better to be positive. Life is challenging, but so worthwhile!

  2. It is soooo easy to get in a negative frame of mind. For me it’s my boss. 😦 But I try so hard to see what I’m gaining from the experience. :/

    • Sooo easy. Keep trying, I know you can do this!

      Maybe there isn’t a gain for you. Perhaps, instead, grace for him or her by way of you??? Something to think about anyway.

      Stay strong, this too shall pass.

  3. If you want to keep getting what you are getting, keep doing what you are doing. That works for positive and negative behaviors. I’m beginning to see a pattern here.

Comments are closed.