Yo-Yo Means No-No Results

000yo yoI read a good post this week over at Fit to the Finish. Diane often writes on interesting topics, but because I’ve been stuck at the same weight-give or take 2 to 3 lbs-for nearly eight months now, I’ve paid special attention to what Diane had to say on the subject of Yo-Yo dieting.  I think I suffer from problem 1 and 2 of her five problem list.  I’m making some changes to remedy that, but for this gal, it doesn’t come easy.

It never comes easy.

Ah, well, I am sure anyone who has lost significant weight and kept it off for any length of time understands how difficult it is to get “there” and the determination it takes to stay there.  It’s worth it, though, I know.

Nothing tastes as good as recovery feels.

I’ve lost 100 lbs and kept it off for over ten years so I know from personal experience it feels great. Still, my current efforts to lose more have not provided the results I’m looking for, so I’m taking seriously Diane’s post this week.

Check out what Diane Carbonell has shared about yo-yo dieting.  You won’t be sorry you, did. I promise.

Have you ever been caught in a yo-yo spiral?  What did you do to break out of that round about scenario?

7 thoughts on “Yo-Yo Means No-No Results

  1. I came from a family that suffered from obesity. More accurately morbid obesity. I learned early in life this state interfered with happiness. As a child, I never saw obesity as an aesthetic issue. I saw all the limitations people experienced as a result. I believe this provided early motivation for me.

    Another reason for yo-yo dieting comes from a different angle of fear. Many people attach happiness to weight loss. If a person’s soul is incomplete, weight loss simply results in weight loss. This means additional work is still needed to address character and purpose in life. Many people sabotage their own weight loss plans to avoid confronting these other issues.

    Life can be very complicated. I have found that working on methods to simplify it improves the quality of life.

    • L says:

      I think I got a slow start toward emotional health. There was a lot going on in my formative years: Divorce of my parents at age 5. Relocation to another state soon after. The dynamics of step-parenting. An absent father. It’s a lot for a young girl to process, and there was morbid obesity and lots of fatty foods to depend upon to sooth any emotional pain I might be able to identify. I felt many times like I had no emotional compass as a child. Things are different now, but for a long time I had to play catch up. Processing as a child, I thought God made me fat, so that was how it was fated to be. I now know that’s nonsense, but it took me years to find that truth. One thing I hear and believe–losing weight doesn’t solve life problems. Conversely, overeating makes them worse!

      Life can be VERY complicated, which is why I, too, am working to develop methods for simplifying.

      It feels good to no longer be afraid.

  2. I think it’s not easy to lose the last few desired lbs, especially when you’re at a point where it already was quite hard to get to. But I also think it’s great what you’re doing to change this by doing little changes, so keep it up. I’m sure the rest will fall in place soon 🙂

Comments are closed.