Three Goals Thursday

This week my three goals will be teeny, tiny and created with a bent toward being more positive. Because I am on a crusade to create new habits that will serve me through the course of my life with this experiment, I will be posting similar goals many weeks, but I will try to change it up from time to time in order to stretch myself in the process of developing new behaviors/habits.

Here are my three goals for this week:

1.  I will continue to eat oatmeal for breakfast every day, and will add a colorful veggie salad at my evening meal every night this week.  I love veggies and they are plentiful this time of year in NEPA, so this is a win/win winning scenario for me, I think.

2.  I will exercise for five minutes in the morning each day before doing anything else.  This is a hard one for me because I usually am very stiff in the a.m.s, but I’m willing to do it because I so want to develop a love for early morning exercise.  Plus, I am wayyyy less stiff once I do it. I’m finding that out.  I may even buy me one of those wacky commercial workout tapes to help get me moving in the morning.  Wouldn’t that be fun?!  Can you say, Richard Simmons?

3.  I will work at not letting the food others are eating affect the way I eat.  This one was suggested by Dr. J, who always has good ideas for me, and who always has my ear (or rather, eye, since I read, not hear, what he says).  I, like millions of other Americans, am distracted from good eats by restaurant fare, food commercials, and community food fests. This week I will strive to blaze my own trail with regards to food choices.  I think this one can serve two purposes, because I can also use this as food planning and prep time. Again, win/win. Yay!

Those of you who are in the habit of praying, please pray for me as I attempt to stay focused and on track with my three teeny, tiny goals this week.  I know they seem very tiny, but if I can daily apply these goals to my life, soon my lifestyle will change.

Change is possible!  I believe.

What teeny, tiny goals are you going after this week?  How do you make change fun?  Please share!

7 thoughts on “Three Goals Thursday

  1. You are the type of person I looked forward to entering my clinic while in practice. You have a wonderful persistence about yourself. Your “tiny goals” are HUGE in my book. They create new patterns of behavior (over time) without feeling like you’ve compromised your quality of life. Your attitude and commitment is motivating to me and others. It reinforces the message in my brain that people really do care about themselves and are willing to take the necessary steps to achieve the quality of life they aspire to achieve and maintain.

    {high 5!!!} Not quite certain how to use emoticons so I had to write it out!

    • LOL. You made me smile with that high 5. I’m not sure how to achieve that in emoticons either, but it was cute to see it here with your comment. Thankfully, changing my lifestyle as I have over the last three years, I spend a lot less time in my doctors office. I love that, even thought he is a great guy! 😉 Love the community I have found here, too. Folks like you keep me motivated, so I guess you could say we encourage one another, and in my book, that’s what it’s all about. Together, we get better!

  2. Hanni says:

    Love the “little goal” approach. I’m currently trying to reduce sugar and maybe substitute it with something else like Stevia, if needed. But I’ll see how that’s going to work out.

    • The teeny, tiny goal setting is working. And I’m feeling more positive about the changes I’m making. I keep saying, this is just a tiny thing, such a tiny change…you can do it. My inner critic is beginning to speak more kindly to me. Yay! I don’t know how many others have that snarky inner critic berating them, but mine has a long memory and a big mouth, so anything I can do to change that is truly a good, good thing. LOL

      • Hanni says:

        Hehe. I guess there’s an inner critique in all of us,though maybe for different things 😉

Comments are closed.