Father’s Day Dragnet

We were traveling over the weekend and on the way back from NWPA we got caught in a dragnet on I86, above Hornell.  NYS police were diverting traffic in an effort to capture the escaped convicts that have eluded them for more than a week now.  We were sitting in traffic for over an hour, slowly crawling along, wishing we had avoided the major highways and byways that lead into NY, when we saw a deer leaping and running full-bore alongside the fenced section of the highway.  That was about the coolest thing that happened as we sat and baked in the sun.

Trying to see the positive side of being caught up in a dragnet (after the fact), I can say I was thankful for these three things:

1.  Good people with me in the car, to help pass the time.

2.  Taylor crooning to Blank Space, along with Ed and his Thinking Out Loud.  You guys rock it good!

3.  Sweet cherries we bought when we took a pit stop before heading onto I86. Man, were they yummy!

What I wish we could have done, instead of having to wait all that time…

1. Called ahead on our cell phones to tell the NYSP that we had no convicts in our car and could be diverted to the pass-freely-along lane afforded to those who have video on their phones and are able to do a sweep of the car, inside and out, and forward that clip to police, who will then give approved folks a pass for the long, drawn out wait line that is a NYS dragnet.  I’m sure this technology will soon be available to honest, forthright, non-convict citizens of the USA.

2.  It would have been great if someone had served us soft ice cream from a Mr. Softy truck running alongside the median next to the dragnet line.  I’m sure it would have calmed jangled nerves to have a big ole chocolate and vanilla twist to enjoy while we were waiting in the hot sun.  Maybe a hot dog, too, and a shake.  You know, typical dragnet fare–nothing fancy.

3. I would have loved to have been able to take our car off-road and across the median in order to drive past the miles and miles of backed up vehicles that were waiting their turn to hear, “You’re fine.”  Really?  An hour in traffic and that’s all we get!  Ugh.

I know finding these convicts is important, and I hope they are caught, but really, a drag net on Father’s Day?

I think someone did go to jail yesterday, but we were too far back in the line to see anything go down.  We did see the patty wagon go speeding by us no the right shoulder of the dragnet line, along with six NYSP vehicle, all with lights blazing, all going way too fast for the conditions of the road/line.  The patty wagon was gone when we got to the front of the line, so we are guessing that someone with open warrants got caught up in the checkpoint and hauled off to jail.  I don’t believe they caught the escaped convicts, since the dragnet line was still crawling along when we were released and allowed to go on our way.

One poor young lady had her vehicle overheat while waiting her turn to go through the checkpoint, and she was almost through.  Tough luck for her.  Could be she simply ran outta gas, which brings me to ask this important question:  If one runs out of gas at a police check point, who pays for the tow to the nearest gas station?  I think NYS ought to foot that bill, but that’s just me.

Have you ever been caught up in a dragnet situation that delayed your travel?  What did you do to pass the time while you waited for what seemed like forever to get on your way? 

4 thoughts on “Father’s Day Dragnet

  1. I have a GPS app called Waze. It’s powered by social media. It probably would have warned you about the obstruction, and you could have used it for alternate routes. Originally when it came out it would tell me where every police was located miles before I saw them, and I always saw them.

    • I don’t have a smart phone. 😦 This sounds like a worthy app, though, if I did. And here’s the thing: my BIL went through the dragnet about an hour before we came upon it. He has a cell. He couldn’t call and warn us? Really?! We were traveling the same route, but with a lag in time between us. I’m forgiving him because his AC unit wasn’t working and he’s not a well man, but still… LOL

  2. Always have some podcasts or books on discs to listen to. I get emotionally involved in the topics which distracts me from heat and traffic. If that is not enough, I ask myself if I am more or less fortunate than the people unable to get around on their own. This becomes a quick wake up call to change behavior and attitude.

    • Great responses to unexpected delays. I wish I had thought of these. I had a plan to take an audio book with us on the trip, but forgot it at the last minute. That’s what happens when I rush to meet a deadline. I like the idea of making a gratitude list as I wait. Always a great expenditure of energy and use of my time.

Comments are closed.