Meatless Monday-Overnight Oatmeal

000oatsI love oatmeal!  I’ll eat it almost any way you fix it. I especially love it baked, as a breakfast cereal. Sadly, I don’t always have time to bake my oatmeal, and there are days when it isn’t prudent to warm the house with a hot oven. What then should I do? Make overnight oats.

Below, I have copied a recipe for overnight oats I found on the ISHA website.  I’ve seen similar recipes all over the web, but this is the one that hit my fancy today, so I wanted to share it as my Meatless Monday post. Enjoy!

Mixed Berry Overnight Oats Vegan Breakfast Recipe

1 cup rolled oats

1 cup almond milk (you can also use milk, yogurt, or non-dairy milk/yogurt of your choice)

2 tsp maple syrup or honey

Pinch of cinnamon

Few drops vanilla

Fresh berries

1 TBS chia seeds, optional

Directions:

In the evening, in a small bowl or jar, stir together oats, almond milk, maple syrup, cinnamon, vanilla, and chia seeds. Much of the liquid will be absorbed overnight, but if you desire a thinner or thicker consistency, you can add more or less almond milk. Cover the container and leave it in the fridge overnight. In the morning, top with fresh berries and enjoy.

If you’d like to vary your oats to enjoy them a different way each day, try topping with raw nuts like walnuts or pecans, pomegranate seeds, sliced banana or apple, raisins, or whatever you like!

