Kindred Spirits

I have a niece who is a kindred spirit to me.

Danielle and I think alike.  We reason together well.  We understand each other.  Some folks say we look alike.   What do you think?

Danielle

DSC_0912

Me

DSC_0303

The thing I immediately notice when I look at these comparison photos is that Danielle’s teeth are much nicer.  My permanent teeth developed during those days when tetracycline was used to treat bronchial infections in children.  I have always wished I had a nicer smile.

Danielle wishes she had my hair.  Hers is curly and wiry on the bottom and straight as straw on the top.  It’s also dark brown.  She has a collection of wigs she has taken to wearing these days. It’s a fun way for her to be a different woman every day of the week. She is wearing one of her wigs and my glasses in this picture.

Danielle is a photographer who loved being a secretary “back in the day”.  I am a secretary/office manager who is scared to death of the wedding photography process.  Still, I work as her “second” sometimes, especially when she travels any distance to shoot a wedding. She suffers from migraines and you never know when one of them will visit you, incapacitating you and making it impossible to drive.

We both love organizing all of life.  OCD, anyone?

We both thought it would be fun to take a picture of Danielle in her wig and my glasses. She was shocked when she saw the image.  She couldn’t believe how alike we looked.  Me, not so much.  After all, we are kindred spirits, so why wouldn’t we look alike.  Now, if I could just learn to eat like her.  She is tall, slim, and not the least bit addicted to food.  If only…

Do you have a kindred spirit that you relate to in unbelievable ways? Who encourages you most in life?

2 thoughts on “Kindred Spirits

  1. Yes, you two do look alike! I don’t know if this would help, but swishing a tablespoon of 3% hydrogen peroxide diluted with a little water for 30 seconds twice a day may be helpful to slowly bleach your teeth. You should see some improvement in a month.

Comments are closed.