000woman frames of glasses

Do you remember my crazy encounter of the past with the dermatology department at my local medical center?  You can read about that here.

Miscommunications happen all the time between all kinds of people and businesses, but more often than not they occur for me when I’m looking for medical services. Today’s interchange happened at the office of my eye care provider, and took place after I received a call telling me my new glasses had arrived.

Here is how this round robin went:

I arrive at the office.  I try on the new glasses, which have markings on them so that this technician can properly adjust them to my vision needs/face. Nothing is in focus when I try them on!

Me:  “I can’t see with these, do they have a film on them?”

I’m thinking they have marks on the front of the lenses, so maybe a protective film of plastic has been applied to them for shipping purposes.  Maybe that’s why everything is so blurry? Seems reasonable, since I don’t know how far they had to travel or by what means they were shipped.

Tech:  “Those lines are on there so that I can make sure they fit properly and are aligned correctly.”

Me:  “I can’t see with them on, though. Do they have a covering over the lens?”  I’m confused because they are so obviously wrong.  I can’t focus on anything in the room.

Tech:  “Well, they were made with an outside prescription, so if they aren’t right there is nothing I can do about it.”

Wrong answer on her part. What?!

In her defense, she was going through a dispute with another customer when I walked in off the street.  She’s frazzled already.  She offered to replace the frames for this other gal, but the gal didn’t want other frames. She wanted those frames fixed. I understand her frustration. It took me three trips to different providers to finally decide on something I was happy with, and then I wasn’t really happy.  I’m indecisive and picky about stuff like glasses, so it takes me a while to settle on anything.

Again, I address the fact that this prescription is obviously not right.

Me:  “I can’t see with these.”

Tech: “I know,” (she is quite disturbed with me now), “but you had an outside prescription when you ordered these, so if they are wrong you’ll have to go back to the provider to straighten that out. I can’t help with that.”

At this point I’m thinking, okay, so I am not willing to pay for glasses that I can’t see with, so what is our next move?  

Ready for more disputing, I whip out the prescription I gave to her when I ordered the glasses, to prove I didn’t do her wrong.

While I am getting the script out of my purse, she retrieves the paperwork sent with the pair of glasses from the factory and lays it open on the table in front of me.  The paper is upside down, but with my old glasses on I can still read what is written on it.  I see the notation, even as she fiddles with the new glasses that she has in her hand.  The number on my script is not the same as the number on the paper.

She looks at the script, then at the paper, then at me and  says, “Well, I see why they’re not working for you.”

I say, “I do too! This number is supposed to be -1.25 and they made +1.25.”

Tech:  “They made the wrong ones!” (Disgusted grunt).  “I’ll send them back to the factory!”

When have you had a conversation with someone that made no sense until you realized that you both were missing valuable information?  Have you ever felt like you’d been pulled into an SNL skit, instead of a real conversation?

2 thoughts on “

  1. Obviously I can’t hear the tones of the conversation, which probably conveys what you were feeling, but over-all I’d say it was all handled good enough for today’s medical world 😦

    • It was one of those instances where you kinda mentally scratch your head and say, “What’s going on here?” I felt like I was involved in an impromptu comedy sketch, but that no one let me in on it. LOL

Comments are closed.