Hope…Love…Help…CHANGE!

When I started my journey to recovery from food addiction and overweight, I did it because I wanted more than anything to change my life and have a chance at a future without bondage to food. 

I have not reached my goal weight yet and my progress has been slowed with changes in my body brought about by age and injury, but I am so much better off today than I was when I began.  So. Much!!  100 lbs lighter!  Yay!  Each day that I live well, I am well, and I learn a little more about what it takes to survive and thrive while dealing with food addiction.

My life changes a lil bit every day and with every attempt to let go of the food.

Through God’s mercy and my efforts, including some humiliating admissions of powerlessness, I have seen change take hold in my life. But, it wasn’t just us two (God and me), who worked that miracle change.  I eagerly admit that without the help of others I could not have done what I have done, but the greatest change and victory in my fight has come as God has listened to my pleas, sent others to assist me, and tweaked what needed tweaking inside in order for me to get better.

A lot needed to be tweaked inside in order for me to get better.

The following clip is about change that comes of a combination of things:  our willingness to reach out, the talents of others, their willingness to help, and God’s great love for those who cry out to him.

If you have been one of those who has helped me, and many have–THANK YOU!  I can be a handful some days. 

If you are still looking for the recovery you seek, please be encouraged today and keep fighting for you.  God hears, He cares, and He answers. Watch this video and then get to work asking for the help you need.

Change IS possible!

5 thoughts on “Hope…Love…Help…CHANGE!

    • You are so right! I wish I were more determined, more equipped to never give up, never give in. Where is the educational system that teaches that? I wanna sign up for continuing classes. 😉

      • Follow the quotes or people’s words.
        One way to keep reminding you everytime. Follow fitness blogs or gym blogs they usually have the cool motivation quotes.

  1. You have definitely done your part in reclaiming your wellness. Lori, and I’m sure you will stay on this healthy path!

    I was curious as to what kind of tumor that was. I did an ameloblastoma of the lower jaw that was the size of a 14 inch softball! It may have been one of those. The man came from Haiti where he was not discovered by first world medicine like the man in the video.

  2. Thank you, Dr. J. It is amazing to me what modern medicine can achieve. For this man, a new lease on life because of the generosity of gifted surgeons. For me, a way to cut out the tumor that is food addiction. Together, we get better!

Comments are closed.