Heidi Swanson on a Meatless Monday

I love pesto!

I salivate just looking at most of the recipes in my Heidi Swanson cookbook, Super Natural Every Day. This cookbook is packed full of vegetarian dishes that are colorful, flavorful, and nutritious.

I adore Heidi’s recipes.

One of my favorites from Heidi’s cookbook is the white bean and cabbage dish she makes with parmesan sprinkles. Sooo good!

000white bean and cabbage

Today, I wanted to shard Heidi’s recipe for Orzo Brocolli Salad. 000orzo brocolli

The bad thing about the orzo salad is that the pine nuts are crazy expensive.  I bought a small bag of pine nuts over the weekend for $10 and change.  Yikes!  They are good, though, and I love pesto, so I had to have them.  I have a recipe for whole wheat baking powder biscuits that also call for pine nuts.  I will use these several times, and we will be glad for them, $10 price tag or not.

If you haven’t tried some of Heidi’s recipes, you should.  This gal knows how to cook and in a way that is oh. so. delicious.

Enjoy!!!

