Guilty!

000cop-blowing-whistle-200x300I read police blotters.

There, I said it!

I, Lori, pour over the names of all those unfortunates who, by virtue of their bad behavior, have their names recorded in the section of the paper labeled : Court News. In this section of the paper I find people admitting to all manner of crime, including misdemeanor theft, misdemeanor harassment, possession of drug paraphernalia, possession of drugs, and assault with a deadly weapon.

In addition to these pleas, the Court News cites the names of individuals who were sentenced without having entered a guilty plea. These are those who refused to admit to wrongdoing, but were found guilty anyway. This second group was involved in indecent exposure cases, indecent assault cases, retail theft, obstructing administration of the law, driving under the influence, and criminal mischief, along with other less glamorous crimes. One might ask why these things interest me?

They interest me because:

1. I’ve done some things in my past, and they weren’t all laudable.
2. I have friends still living rough lives.
3. I want to know what my neighbors are up to, even if after-the-fact.
4. I want to be forewarned if trouble is headed my way.
5. I’m plain nosey.

While reading the Court News this week, two things occurred to me.

First, I’m shocked that the court still pays to advertise the outcome in criminal cases, what with the shocking regularity with which crimes are committed these days.

Secondly, I’ve noticed that crime is no respecter of age. Some of the individuals showing up in the police blotters are 54, 59, and 69 years of age. I guess a thief is a thief is a thief, no matter how many times he or she has blown out the candles on a birthday cake.

I’ve heard it said that to the pure of heart, all things are pure. Perhaps it’s true then that for the criminally inclined, there’s always a reason to skirt the law.

Why is any of this noteworthy, or fit fodder for today’s blog post? Only because as I was looking through the police blotter last night I realized, “If eating more than one needs to live were illegal, my name would be in the Court News section of the paper on a repeating basis.”

I need to do better.

I’m glad overeating is not yet illegal in my county!

Are you a repeat offender with junk food? What have you done to curb your urge to eat in nearly criminal ways?

