Sick and Tired

The last couple of days I’ve been sick.  Hubs had a sinus infection that began last weekend and it seems he may have passed it along to me. Ugh.

I went to the walk-in clinic yesterday morning and was told that my ailment was viral.  So, maybe hubs didn’t give this to me, but I’m blaming him anyway.  He has broad shoulders, he can take it.

The worst thing about being sick is the exhaustion. I had a fever two days of the three days I’ve been sick.

Fevers are exhausting.

The best thing about being sick is that I don’t have an appetite.  That means I eat less (I still eat, nothing could stop me from eating), and that means I lose weight. Two years ago we traveled to see family in NC,and I was sick while there. I lost 9 lbs on that vacation, but I would have rather held onto that weight or worked it off while hiking Grandfather Mountain, than to lose it by being sick while away from home.

Grandfather Mountain in Autumn

Grandfather Mountain in Autumn

Boone, NC is one of the most gorgeous places I have ever been, especially in the fall.

Today, I’m trying to focus on getting better and letting my body heal, while I leave the food alone. I’m drinking more than usual, but even that is off today. I didn’t crave that first cup of coffee in the morning, and instead went for hot tea.  Last night I wanted comfort food, so we had homemade soup and beer batter bread.  It hit the spot!

What do you eat when you’re sick?  What is your favorite feel-better meal?

4 thoughts on “Sick and Tired

  1. Oh no! I really hate being sick and am a terrible patient. One of my most comforting “sick foods” is soup with tomato soup on top of the list. Got to be from a can, got to be Campbell’s. A throw-back to childhood days.
    Hope you feel better soon!

  2. One year we drove the Blue Ridge Parkway rather than take 95 north to Richmond, Loved Blowing Rock, visited Boone and climbed Grandfather Mountain part way.

    Being sick is no fun. Nothing is good to eat.

Comments are closed.