Meatless Monday–NOT

My recipe for today isn’t really an officially formatted recipe, and it’s not meatless, though it could be. Its a throw together meal that I would be willing to make and eat a million times over, shared here in a very informal manner.  000chick pea soupChick Pea Soup

Here’s how I do it…I put together in a pot:

1 can of Swanson Chicken stock

1 can of stewed tomatoes, pureed in the blender

1 sweet potato, cubed into small pieces, already cooked

1 cans of Chick Peas, drained

2-3 sausage links, cooked and coined

Salt, pepper, oregano, basil to taste.

2 cups fresh spinach, added a few minutes before serving.

I put the broth and tomatoes in the pot first, then add the spices.  I let that simmer for a little bit, enough to bring the flavors together.  I cook the sweet potato separately, ahead of time, because I want to eliminate some of the starch in the recipe.  You could do the same, or if you want the soup to be thicker, add the potato in the stock you’ve made and simmer until done–about 15 minutes.  Next I add the sausage coins and the chick peas.  The spinach is the last item I add to the pot.  I bet you could use kale too, but I haven’t–yet!

If you like onions, you can dice one and add at the beginning, letting them cook while the broth melds with the spices.

While this soup is cooking on the range top, I throw some corn bread in the oven. My favorite go-to recipe is found in the Happy Everyday Herbivore cookbook that you can check out here.  It’s made of white flour and whole wheat flour and it’s really dense and moist (probably because of the pumpkin–I sometimes use creamed corn in a pinch).  The cornbread only takes 25 minutes to bake, and the soup is done about that same time.

This recipe is quick, easy, and so, so, sooo delicious and filling.  It has tons of vitamins and nutrients in it, and the corn bread and chick peas provide a lot of fiber and texture.  Its simple to make and I usually have all the ingredients on hand–the win/win I’m looking for on those nights when I have meetings after work.

Try this soup and let me know what you think. I love it!

What is your favorite soup?  Do you have a tried and true recipe for those hectic nights? 

 

 

 

