Image

Transformation Thursday

100 lbs gone!

000transformation ThursdayBack in my heftier days it was tough getting around. I almost never played outside with my kids. Walking any distance meant being out of breath. Forget taking the stairs–my thighs and lungs were burning before I got up one flight.  I was convinced God didn’t care about my weight.

He’d made me “big-boned”.

If He wanted me thin, I would have been thin, right?

Wrong.

I needed to realize that although God loved me when my girth was a problem, he had not planned for my girth to be a problem.

I fell into the problem I had with food because…

1. My mom is a fantastic baker. Sorry mom, but you are.
2. Emotionally, it took a long time for me to grow up.
3. I had not yet found my words, so couldn’t ask for help.
4. I had too much pride.
5. My thinking was futile, especially with regards to my eating.

In those days, I ate…

…to occupy myself when boredom struck.
…to sooth ruffled feathers (there’s always a cookie for that).
…to deal with life and stress (a biggie for many).
…to sate my fears.
…in an effort to fill a bottomless hole in my soul that I didn’t realize was there.

I became a sugar addict.

Then Prayer.

Then Change.

Then Program.

Then Persistence.

Then the Miracle happened.

I have “a ways to go” before I will reach perfection (or the insurance company’s concept of normal), but I am so much better than I used to be. So much. The evidence in right there, just the other side of the camera lens. It’s also seen in increased stamina, less pain, greater hope, and greater confidence in my abilities.

This word helped me so many times while I changing: For I know what I have planned for you,’ says the LORD. ‘I have plans to prosper you, not to harm you. I have plans to give you a future filled with hope. Jeremiah 29:11

Hope is sooo, sooo important!

What are you hoping for today? What needs to change in your life? How can I help?

8 thoughts on “Transformation Thursday

  1. Wow! You did go through quote some change! Keep it up, though you already look brilliant 😊

    I’m currently struggling getting back to working out again and my back pain is a daily punishment for my laziness. So I hope to stick with it this time when I start over tomorrow again.

    • I’ll be thinking of you today, Hanni. I have begun again a million times. Persistence wins the game with almost any endeavor, don’t you think? I’m grateful for the change that God has helped me formulate in my own life, and I’m sure of your success as you begin again one-day-at-a-time.

      As Dory in Finding Nemo says, “Just keep swimming…just keep swimming.”

      • Absolutely, persistence is the key and then the rest will fall into place. I just need to start and I will. Thanks for your kind words, Lori!

  2. Wow – amazing and good for you!!! Like any and all change it happens one day at a time, one step at a time, one decision at a time – so simple but never easy. Love the Jeremiah 29 verse, God has a plan and purpose in all things, even the difficult times, He is amazing that way!!
    Keep on keeping on, enjoyed your posts!

  3. g2-da3b6417a69b4775a796470f25f0ea5e says:

    Lori! Never lose sight of how far you have come!! Most people that get into the weight hole you did never do as well as you have done in changing their path around!

    • Thank you. These pictures take me back and help me with perspective. I have more to share in the days to come. Some of them, they show a girl I don’t even know, she is so very different from me.

Comments are closed.