Hitting a Brick Wall?

000brick wallBrowsing the internet yesterday, I found that the staff over at msn.com had shared some reasons why my weight loss might have slowed. They were writing this for me, right?

I’ve had some problems getting my weight to move lower down the scale in the past. Who hasn’t?  Anyway, I thought I’d check their insights out and then blog about them. This is my attempt to address which of their reasons for a slow-down in my weight loss I found valid, and why.

Your weight loss might be stalled if:

1. You have a wimpy breakfast. We’ve heard this one again and again, EAT YOUR WHEATIES! I eat breakfast every morning and most mornings it consists of measured amounts of grains, protein, carbs, and coffee. This is not the reason why I’m stalled in my weight loss attempts.

2. Cardio is your go-to exercise. True, but I’m not working all that hard at any exercise at this time. I ride a bike most nights for 30 plus minutes. I do no weight training. I gave up my gym membership when I hurt myself and haven’t been back since. I live in NEPA, which doesn’t help. It has been months since I was outside moving around. This could be one reason for my weight loss slow-down.

3. You only use light weights. I use no weights, other than my hefty self, which I drag around with me everywhere I go. I don’t go much of anywhere. I’m an office manager by day and a critical observer by night (read: I watch too much TV and read most nights). I’m older and less mobile than when I had toddlers running around that I had to chase, so that’s a factor, too. This could seriously be one reason why I’m not losing as quickly now.

4. You don’t eat before you work out. This one was interesting, because the story I read said that some folks avoid protein before working out and that is absolutely the wrong thing to do. The only thing much wronger, I guess, is to not eat anything before exercising (see how I made up that word I wanted to use? that was a goal for this year’s blogging: make up more words). I have noticed that when I eat protein before I exercise (approximately 30 mins before), my legs seem to endure the ride better. I’m able to stay on the bike longer, and my recovery in the knee region is quicker after the ride.

5. You only work out on your own. The article I read talked about the importance of a support group, both for exercising together, holding each other accountable, and for other weight loss needs. I concur. Doing this with a buddy or two keeps me engaged and motivated. This is not why my weight loss has slowed. I have a support group.

6. You stress yourself about the scale. Shut up, I do not! 😉 But seriously, I might have done this years ago—made that number on the cold steal thingy a god in my life—but no more. For some time now I have seen the scale as a friend who lovingly reminds me that cheese cake three weeks in a row might not be good for me. I don’t eat cheese cake three weeks in a row, and I am not shy about stepping on the scale, so this is not my problem. I monitor without fear daily, and like it that way.

7. You down diet soda. Nope, not me. I “might” drink a diet soda once a year, but I have no affinity for it. The last time I had one was at the office Christmas party, where I drank half the can then tossed the rest. Before that, I can’t remember, it’s been so long. This is not a contributor to any weight loss difficulties I have.

8. You skip dessert, but not the bread bowl. Not my problem. I do admit to eating out too often, but I rarely order dessert. And occasionally I eat from the bread bowl, although I was proud of myself for passing it up a few days ago when hubs took me out to eat. I do love my bagels, but more often than not I am pulling the stuffing out of my hoagie roll or grilled Panini, and eating only the goodies inside. Too much bread is not my problem.

These things are specific to me and might be my problem:

I’ve said this before and I’ll say it again: Ice cream is my kryptonite. If I have a problem with food, it’s that.

I can see that I have a problem with getting enough exercise and activity in general. Like I said, I sit in an office chair all day and type, and take calls, and act as an executive secretary to my CEO, and direct the flow of my administrative staff members, so my life is pretty sedentary.

I’m not going to gym right now.

I keep putting off joining the local Tai Chi classes, though I have been asked to join numerous times.

I don’t walk outside in the ice and snow because of a fear of falling (did that last year, and took a full-grown adult male down with me, no fun!).

I also wonder if some of the meds I am on are stalling my efforts. I’m going to talk to my PCP about that next time I see him. See if we can switch some things up, maybe do an herbal, instead of a pharmaceutical for my slow thyroid. It occurs to me that might be slowing my progress.

I’ve notice that I don’t lose as quickly as I did even two years ago. Maybe age is creeping up and I need to be more ruthless with my intake.

Lately, I have seen a few pounds depart, as I have taken up my time with some DIY projects.  That has been great!

Which of the above insights most often affects your efforts to lose weight? Which one of these are you willing to work on improving, going forward?

here’s a link to the article I read.  http://www.msn.com/en-us/health/health-weightloss/8-mistakes-that-are-slowing-your-weight-loss/ss-AA2fN0P#image=1

2 thoughts on “Hitting a Brick Wall?

  1. I won’t apply this to you, but that list is mostly worthless as far as me. I never eat breakfast, cardio is my foundation, I do use heavy weights and push myself, I never eat before working out because I want to stay in fat burning mode, I always work out alone unless I’m doing sports, I rarely weigh myself, I have some diet soda everyday (May I suggest you cut your ice cream to 1/3 and make a soda with diet cream soda to stretch the experience, that’s my dessert), I eat some starch every day, bread, rice, quinoa, potato, but never bagels, they are very high calorie.

    Make a plan with calories and exercise, and stick to it no matter what for two weeks and see what happens. That means no eating out or caving to friends or relatives!

Comments are closed.