DIY Erasable Board

Last week I mentioned that I step on the scale every day first thing in the morning, to weigh myself.  Afterward, I write the number that represents my current weight on an erasable board in my bathroom.  I have done this for a while now.  The board that I was using for this purpose is actually a plastic summertime serving tray for on the patio.  It looks like this:

DSC_0917

This board works great with dry erase markers, because the surface is slick and glossy, so the words erase easily, but there was no way to hang it on the wall. For many months it has hung from a hook meant for a robe, while the robe got tossed to the side.  You’ll see what I mean later in this post.  This was how things were with my dry erase board until I saw this sweet burlap and picture frame Do It Yourself project.  I was intrigued.  Having grown up on a dairy farm, I’m familiar with burlap.  Oh, how I wish now that I had saved all the feed bags we threw away or burned as a kid.  I would be rich!

But back to my project:

Lately I’ve been looking at home fashion blogs (and pinterest). I guess you could say I’m feeling pulled back to my farm house/cottage roots. Never would have thunk it five years ago. I won’t lie, I’ve also thought it was time for another NSV (non-scale victory) for me.  This weight plateau continues unabated and I need something to keep my attention focused on something other than food.

All it took to make my new board was a cheap picture frame, a half yard of burlap, a pencil, some tape, and some scissors.  I started with the picture frame $3, the burlap $.79 and the scissors I already owned.

DSC_0525

DSC_0531

The burlap is light beige in color, so the dark markers will show up on the board nicely, I think.

First, I took the picture frame apart, and laid the backing on the burlap as a pattern. Then, I cut the burlap to size.

DSC_0528

DSC_0529

This was sooo easy.

DSC_0530

Once everything was cut, I just tucked the burlap into the picture compartment for the frame and voila, DIY dry erase board is born.

DSC_0535

Back side.

DSC_0537

Doesn’t it look great?!

I love the texture the burlap provides, and the color is great for my bathroom. Plus, I love, LOVE the black frame.  I’ve pretty much decided that black is going to be my contrast color when I decorate the house this spring. It makes accent pieces pop!

DSC_0540

My first DIY in a long, long time!

But how would I get it on the wall?

DSC_0544

Hmm, a puzzle.  Then I thought…

DSC_0552

…what if I make a template out of paper?  I thought I was so smart and it was going to work great, but somehow it didn’t.  The template helped to know how far apart the nails needed to be for hanging, but it was all wrong with regards to balance (getting it level on the wall). I still don’t know what I did wrong, but here are a few pictures to explain what I attempted.

DSC_0557

DSC_0561

These Phantom Hook hooks work great for securing frames or other artwork to drywall. They hold up to 50 lbs of pressure.  We love them!

DSC_0562

I tried really hard to get the paper template level, but no luck.  Like I said, I don’t know where I failed in this attempt, but I did. The frame wasn’t level when the nails were done being driven in to the wall.

DSC_0563

DSC_0565

Our house is stud-poor, which is why we often use these hooks. They really do work great with drywall, but don’t help at all with leveling your work. Hee, Hee.

Here’s how it looked after my first attempt at installation.

DSC_0569

Just a tad crooked, right?

DSC_0568

Not good enough, so I tried again.

DSC_0570

This was three attempts later and the wall now has several pock marks.  Oh, well, they’re covered by one fantastic looking DIY dry erase board, people, so who cares, right?!

At this point, I said…

DSC_0579

That picture is blurry because I used two markers in tandem to write the message, but it made my head feel funny reading it–like I used a shaky cam to film my DIY.  It adds an unnerving queasiness to the project, so I changed the message to this…

DSC_0580

I was…

DSC_0582

Well, with the exception of a bit of red, in honor of St. Valentine.  🙂

DSC_0589

I used a couple different camera settings to take these pictures. I’m trying to find out what works best in which light. Sorry for the blurry images at some points.

I like my new dry erase board with the light beige burlap texture.  I think it is going to be much more soothing in the bathroom than the patio tray.  This project took me maybe an hour to complete and I didn’t eat that whole time.

Woohoo, double NSV for me!!

I am so proud of myself for finishing this.  I’m the queen of half done projects, so it felt good to get ‘er done and have a beautiful piece for my bathroom when I was finished.

If you will indulge me…

One more picture, please!

DSC_0574

What home projects have you enjoyed doing?  Which ones did you hate?

3 thoughts on “DIY Erasable Board

  1. I really like this idea and it’s so easy! We just redecorated a room and I was really surprised how new and refreshing little changes and additions can make it.

    • I know, right? It was easy. Simple. No sewing involved, which suits me well. I’m not all that handy with my hands, but I’m trying. I’m in redecorating mode, too. Trying to find my style. I’ve got some ideas, but this is my first project. Yay!

  2. That’s great!! I know how satisfying it is to use our hands and be creative. Plus the way it helps you focus on your health mission. My mom grew up in the country, and they had all kinds of critters including a cow.

Comments are closed.