Meltdownchaostastrophy Over

As I was coming down from my meltdownchaostastrophy last Thursday, I heard a lil whisper telling me to check out some of my old blog posts for help with this current plateau I’m facing. So, I did!  Here is one you might enjoy reading.  I heard God speak through that post.

I love it when He speaks to me in that still, small voice.

I always know something good is headed my way when I hear that whisper.

Sooo, I read a few more of my past blog posts.

I found some good help.

I copied and pasted that help into another document I then printed. I will read it many times over the next few weeks, and I know it will help.

Repetition is the only form of permanence I can achieve. 

It’s important for me to remember to do the same right things over and over again. When it comes to food, I forget, ALOT!  It’s time to go back, re-read, begin again, and take my own advice.

I’m back to journaling and calorie counting.

It’s also time I re-read some past posts from other bloggers, things that have helped me before.  I’m doing that today.

Because its Monday, I wanted to share one of my Meatless Monday favorites: KIND bars.  I sometimes eat KIND bars for breakfast, when I take a break from the oatmeal with raisins and walnuts.  I love the almond and coconut variety.

Almond and Coconut bar, 190 calories

Almond and Coconut bar, 190 calories

Speaking of oatmeal, I haven’t made baked oatmeal in a while.  Instead, I’ve been cooking my oats on top of the stove, but it’s not the same.  I need to make me some baked oatmeal.  It’s a stick-to-your-ribs kinda breakfast that I love.  Here’s one of my favorite recipes for baked oatmeal.  It’s taken from the Heidi Swanson’s cookbook, Super Natural Every Day.

Heidi Swanson's cookbook. One of my favorites.

Heidi Swanson’s cookbook. One of my favorites.

Heidi’s Baked Oatmeal

YIELD: Serves 6 generously, or 12 as part of a larger brunch.
Ingredients
• 2 cups/7 oz/200 g rolled oats
• 1/2 cup/2 oz/60 g walnut pieces, toasted and chopped
• 1/3 cup/2 oz/60 g natural cane sugar or maple syrup, plus more for serving
• 1 teaspoon aluminum-free baking powder
• 1 1/2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
• Scant 1/2 teaspoon fine-grain sea salt
• 2 cups/475 ml milk
• 1 large egg
• 3 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted and cooled slightly
• 2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
• 2 ripe bananas, cut into 1/2-inch/1 cm pieces
• 1 1/2 cups/6.5 oz/185 g huckleberries, blueberries, or mixed berries

Preparation
Preheat the oven to 375°F/190°C with a rack in the top third of the oven. Generously butter the inside of an 8-inch/20cm square baking dish.  In a bowl, mix together the oats, half the walnuts, the sugar, if using, the baking powder, cinnamon, and salt.

In another bowl, whisk together the maple syrup, if using, the milk, egg, half of the butter, and the vanilla.

Arrange the bananas in a single layer in the bottom of the prepared baking dish. Sprinkle two-thirds of the berries over the top. Cover the fruit with the oat mixture. Slowly drizzle the milk mixture over the oats. Gently give the baking dish a couple thwacks on the counter top to make sure the milk moves through the oats. Scatter the remaining berries and remaining walnuts across the top.

Bake for 35 to 45 minutes, until the top is nicely golden and the oat mixture has set. Remove from the oven and let cool for a few minutes. Drizzle the remaining melted butter on the top and serve. Sprinkle with a bit more sugar or drizzle with maple syrup if you want it a bit sweeter.

Note:  I eliminate several ingredients from this recipe when I make it.  The bananas I leave out, just because they are really mushy when baked at the bottom of the pan, and that turns me off. I also don’t use the maple syrup.  I sometimes use nuts and seeds, instead or berries, but I often use raisins and lots of cinnamon.  I like this recipe because of the milk already in it when it bakes. The oatmeal stays moist, while others get hard a day or two into the week. I eat from this pan all weeks long, which makes getting ready for work a whole lot easier.  Enjoy!

