Meatless Monday Favorite

000cauliflowerOne of the dishes I have grown to love, love, love is Roasted Cauliflower with Parmesan. I was introduced to this yummy dish at our local Wegman’s store. Now, when I pick up subs for the guys at Wegman’s, I often get myself a meal of vegetarian side dishes, including the roasted cauliflower with parmesan. Soo darn good!

Here is a recipe I found on pinterest that I have not yet tried, but hope to soon. Gruyère–one of my favorite cheeses. I use it in a three-cheese macaroni dish I make that tastes heavenly. Just have to watch my portion sizes with that one.  Homemade mac and cheese is calorie dense, but definitely my kinda comfort food.

Parmesan & Gruyère Roasted Cauliflower

1 large head cauliflower
3 Tbs olive oil
kosher salt and fresh ground black pepper
1 cup fresh grated Parmesan
1 cup fresh grated Gruyère

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Chop head into florets and discard stems. Place florets on sheet pan. Drizzle with olive oil and sprinkle generously with salt and pepper. Toss and bake for 30 minutes, tossing once. Sprinkle with cheese and bake for 1-2 minutes. Season to taste.

Another way I like to eat cauliflower is roasted, as steaks in the oven. This is the simplest way in the world to eat what is one of my favorite vegetables. To make cauliflower steaks I just cut the vegetable (the whole head) into 1/2 inch thick “steaks”, use a dab of olive oil on a paper tower to put a sheen on the steaks, and salt and pepper them. Into the oven they go, at 350 degrees for ten minutes. After that time, I turn them. If they aren’t caramelized yet, I leave them a few more minutes, then turn them. The under side gets all juicy in the first ten minutes of baking, so I don’t need to oil it again. I just add more salt and pepper and push it back in the oven for another ten minute bake.

These steaks could be a meal in themselves, easily, but we usually pair them with a salad and nuts and some kind of protein. The whole process takes 30-40 minutes, start to finish.  Give this dish a try.  I promise, you won’t be sorry!

Note:  This recipe is copied from Blythe’s Blog/Pinterest at https://leslieblythemiller.wordpress.com/2013/06/25/parmesan-gruyere-roasted-cauliflower/, where Blythe shared that “cauliflower is low in fat, low in carbohydrates but high in dietary fiber, folate, water, and vitamin C, possessing a high nutritional density. A high intake of cauliflower has been associated with reduced risk of aggressive prostate cancer.”

One thought on “Meatless Monday Favorite

Comments are closed.