What to do…what to do…

Yesterday I traversed the aisles of my local Ben Franklin store.

Ben Franklin Store

Ben Franklin Store

Do you know of the famous Ben Franklin stores?

Have you ever been in one?

Is there one in your area?  The amount of stuff they have in there is crazy!

BF stores harken back to the days when the five and dimes carried everything under the sun. This store carries almost everything. Its contents are as eclectic as my living room, which is decorated with hand-me-downs from family and friends, daily reminders of their love for me and my affection for them.

Usually I love spending a few minutes shopping in my local BF. I rarely buy anything of significance there, but going into the place is like attending a feast for the eyes. There is so much to see, and some of it is weird, and some of it is expensive, and some of it is over my head, and some of it is totally nothing I would ever use, ever. Yesterday, however, I was on the hunt for something to do. I was thinking yarn, maybe, or needle point, possibly, or paints? Canvas? Something…

I have decided I need to do something to keep my mind off food, to entice my brain in another way, to renew my artist heart, and/or light a spark under my still substantial butt. Ahhhhhhh, I just don’t know what to choose.  I have done a wee bit of needle point/embroidering in my teens, and I crocheted and did hook rugs once upon a time, but I left all that years ago. Do I want to revisit it? Should I?  Is it just a waste of time?

Maybe I should learn something new.

I’m feeling restless and like I want this weight thing to get going again, but we are in the middle of a deep freeze in NEPA and that’s not changing any time soon. Getting outside in this is not ideal.  Especially since there is a lot of ice to contend with in my neck of the woods.

One thing is clear in my mind at this time: I want to quit whining and start doing something!!!

Seriously, I’m tired of hearing myself complain, but have no real action plan in place.  I’m hoping that will soon change.

What do you do for fun, exercise, or to keep your mind off food and your butt away from the TV?  Share with me.  Maybe I can do it too!  One thing is for sure, food obsession is no fun.  Gotta find me a way to divert my attention away from food.

Thanks for listening once again.  I promise, I will try to quit the whining and get something going soon.  One project I am excited about right now is buying some new furniture for the house on the hill.  I will try to include some pictures later this week, so you can see what I’m dealing with and maybe suggest a few changes. I want to go for a cottage/bungalow feel, but farm and country is good too.  Excited to see where that goes.

Maybe I answered my own question through writing today.  Maybe my next project needs to be redecorating at home.  Maybe…

